fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

WCL changes to three divisions for 2014

KEIZER — The Medford Rogues baseball club will be in a four-team division with other Oregon teams following a restructuring of the West Coast League.

The league's board of directors voted to change the league for the 2014 season to create a three-division alignment based on natural geographical boundaries.

The South Division will include all of the Oregon teams — the defending champion Corvallis Knights, Bend Elks, Klamath Falls Gems and Medford Rogues.

The East and West divisions will each have one British Columbia and three Washington teams.

The East will have the Kelowna (B.C.) Falcons, Walla Walla Sweets, Wenatchee Applesox and the WCL's newest expansion team, Yakima.

The West will have the Victoria (B.C.) HarbourCats, Bellingham Bells, Kitsap BlueJackets, and Cowlitz Black Bears.

All the teams will play each other, but not every team will visit every city each year.

The playoff teams will be the three division champions and a wild card (that which has the best record outside the division winners).