fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Rogues win GWL playoff opener

PORTLAND — The Medford Rogues edged the Portland Pickles, 7-6, in the opener of their best-of-three Great West League playoff series on Sunday.

Jake Hellweg scored the go-ahead run on an error by Portland catcher Tate Budnick after getting on base with a single in the top of the eighth inning. Connor Lowrie's one-out RBI single tied the game at 6 earlier in the inning.

The two teams will take today off to travel before the Rogues host Game 2 at 6:35 p.m. Tuesday at Harry & David Field. Game 3, if necessary, will be Wednesday at 6:35 p.m. in Medford. Playoff tickets are available at medfordrogues.com.

On Sunday, Dante Gutierrez hit a three-run home run in the sixth inning and Alex Isola finished 2-for-3 with a solo homer and three runs scored for the Rogues.

Hellweg went 2-for-4 with two runs and an RBI and Josh Berman was 2-for-4.

D.J. Wilson picked up the win after working his way out of a bases-loaded jam in the eighth. Taylor Frost earned the save by closing out the ninth with a pair of strikeouts to go along with a walk and putout.



Pearce, France (6), Hutchinson (6), Flynn (7), Wilson (8), Frost (9) and Isola; Hendrickson, Torres (8), Redish (8) and Budnick. W — Wilson (1-0). L — Torres (0-1). 2B — M: Hellweg; P: Leighton, Kinne. HR — M: Isola, Gutierrez; P: Hardy.

Auto Racing

SOUTHERN OREGON SPEEDWAY: At White City, Cody Peters won the 30-lap WSDCA Pro Dwarf Car main event on Night 2 of the Dwarf Car Nationals at Southern Oregon Speedway Saturday.

Jake Wheeler earned a flag-to-flag romp in the 20-lap winged sprint car main, Kevin Bender backed up his Friday night Veteran Dwarf Car victory with another 20-lap main triumph and Randy Hansen won his first 20-lap late model lites main.

Fourteen-year-old Josh Wiesz won the 20-lap dwarf car main.

WSDCA Pro Dwarf Cars — Heat Winners (10 Laps)-Kyle Jones, Matt Sargent, Josh King. Fast Dash (10 Laps)-Dusty Loughton. C Main (10 Laps)-Jake Van Ortwick, Andy Lemmons, Brandon Gentry. B Main (15 laps)-Matt Sargent, Cody Peters, Kyle Jones. Main Event (30 Laps)-Cody Peters, Danny Wagner, Chad Matthias, Brock Peters, John Isabella.

WSDCA Veteran Dwarf Cars — Heat Winners (8 laps)-Buddy Olschowka, Scott Dahlgren. Fast Dash (10 Laps)-Kevin Bender. Main Event (20 Laps)-Kevin Bender, Jack Haverty, Kevin Miraglio, Scott Dahlgren, Mark Biscardi.

WSDCA Sportsman Dwarf Cars — Heat Winner (8 Laps)-Mike Clark. Fast Dash (10 Laps)-Teagon Fisher. Main Event (20 Laps)-Josh Wiesz, Teagon Fisher, Clayton Parsons, Chris Wright, Travis Gergel.

Winged Sprint Cars — Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Jake Wheeler, Hedge Carter. Main Event (20 Laps)-Jake Wheeler, Kyler Barraza, Hedge Carter, Enrique Jaime, David Hibbard.

Late Model Lites — Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Randy Hansen, Dusty Aos. Main Event (20 Laps)-Randy Hansen, Bob Burkett, Charlie Eaton, Greg Arnold, Eric Aos.