fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Diatte wins Dwarf Car Nationals

WHITE CITY — Ryan Diatte was unstoppable in winning the WSDCA Dwarf Car Nationals Pro Division Main Event Saturday night at Southern Oregon Speedway.

The event was hosted by the local SODCA group. Diatte races with the SBDCA and NCDCA groups in California, and he won both Friday’s Preliminary Feature and the Saturday race. He led from the start, but a yellow flag with five laps to go gave Danny Wagner a shot at the lead. Diatte motored ahead on the restart and held off Wagner for the impressive victory. Mac Marmon, Cameron Diatte and Ryan Martinez rounded out the Top 5 at the checkered flag.

Jake Wheeler won the 25-lap Kendall Oil Winged Sprint Car Main Event. The 2016 champion trailed TJ Winningham for six laps before racing around him on the high line in Turn 2. Point leader David Hibbard gained second on lap 13 and took up pursuit of Wheeler. There was a yellow flag with two laps to go. However, Wheeler kept his cool and paced the final two laps for the win. Hibbard settled for second ahead of Blaine Cory, Winningham and Jeffrey Hudson.

Tim Fitzpatrick won the 20 lap Veterans Dwarf Car Main Event. He was the winner of the Preliminary Feature a night earlier. Fast Dash winner Mike Reeder led the first eight laps before Fitzpatrick made an inside pass in Turn 4 to take over. Fitzpatrick set a quick pace up front and was in traffic by lap 15. He made all the right moves and grabbed the win ahead of Reeder, Kevin Bender, Kevin Miraglio and Buddy Olschowka.

Third generation racer Brett James scored his first win in the 15-lap Sportsman Dwarf Car Main Event. Fast Dash winner Shawn Whitney raced into the lead at the start and led three laps before James made a low pass in Turn 4 to take the lead. James led the rest the way with Michael Johnson and Joe Sanders making it a local sweep of the podium. Erin Morganstern and Mac Aceves made up the remainder of the Top 5.

Lee Doty won the 15 lap Valley Store All Late Model Lites Main Event. He led every lap and won by a wide margin. Point leader Charlie Eaton won a closer battle with Danny Prewitt for second.

Next weekend is the $2,000 to win Kendall Oil Iron Head Winged Sprint Car Nationals. Also competing will be the SODCA Dwarf Cars, Bobbio’s Pizza Mini Stocks and JOAT Labs Hornets. For further information, go to www.southernoregonspeedway.com.


Dwarf Car Nationals

Pro Dwarf Cars

Fast Dash (10 Laps)-Mark Hansen. Heat Winners (10 laps)-Cody Steffenmeir, Cameron Diatte. B Main (15 Laps)-Cameron Diatte, Brock Peters, Zach Price. Main Event (30 Laps)-Ryan Diatte, Danny Wagmer, Mac Marmon, Cameron Diatte, Ryan Martinez.

Veteran Dwarf Cars

Fast Dash (10 Laps)-Mike Reeder. Heat Winners (10 Laps)-Kevin Miraglio, Bill Van Praag. Main Event (20 Laps)-Tim Fitzpatrick, Mike Reeder, Kevin Bender, Kevin Miraglio, Buddy Olschowka.

Sportsman Dwarf Cars

Fast Dash (10 Laps)-Shawn Whitney. Main Event (20 Laps)-Brett James, Michael Johnson, Joe Sanders, Erin Morganstern, Mac Aceves.

Kendall Oil Winged Sprint Cars

Heat Winners (10 Laps)-David Hibbard, Aaron Miller. Scramble (6 Laps)-TJ Winningham. Main Event (25 Laps)-Jake Wheeler, David Hibbard, Blaine Cory, TJ Winningham, Jeffrey Hudson.

Valley Store-All Late Model Lites

Heat Winner (6 Laps)-Lee Doty. Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Lee Doty. Main Event (15 Laps)-Lee Doty, Charlie Eaton, Danny Prewitt, Eric Aos, Dusty Aos.

Tire photo