fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Ashland High School thespians honored at state festival

Ashland High School theater students earned multiple honors at the Oregon State Thespian Festival held March 30 through April 2 in Salem.

Ceili Widmann won the $1,500 Melba Day Sparks Scholarship Award for excellence in theater arts.

The Honor Troupe Award for outstanding troupe work in production, community service and outreach was given to Ashland Troupe 4630, made up of president Christine Impara and officers Jonathan Connolly, Widmann, Tessa Buckley and Emma Durbin.

Ashland High’s tech team, named “Tech, yeah,” placed third in a tech challenge in which 16 techies competed on two teams, completing such tasks as coordinating a ground plan, focusing a light, coiling cords, sewing buttons and creating a sound cue. Representing “Tech, yeah” were Nellie Strong, Durbin, Chris Jossy, Michael Burt, Widmann, McKenzie Williams and Cloe Sutherland.

On the final day of the festival four AHS actors — Preston Mead, Amelia Sorensen, Jonathan Connolly and Sienna Ross — were chosen to perform their winning pieces in an actor showcase.

Also for Ashland, Widmann won second place for playwriting for her one-act play “Violence,” and AHS took home four technical design awards for Corrine Maddox (second place, costume design), Durbin (third place, set design), Widmann (second place, makeup design) and Zoe Lishinsky (third place, makeup design).

Joan Langley and her Oregon Shakespeare Festival Education Department were awarded the Michael Hibbert Award for their service to Oregon students, which includes school visits, school tours, guest lectures and special student projects.

Joe Zavala is a reporter for the Ashland Daily Tidings. Reach him at 541-821-0829 or jzavala@dailytidings.com. Follow him on Twitter at @Joe_Zavala99.