fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Board candidates to take part in forum

Tidings file photo

A forum for Ashland school board candidates moderated by former Ashland superintendent Juli DiChiro will be held via Zoom and will be available to the public through a link.

The forum will begin at 7 p.m. Thursday and can be accessed at bit.ly/2021schoolboard.

The May 18 special election will be a busy one in Ashland, where three school board positions are up for grabs. Jill Franke and Natalie Jackson are running for Position 1, incumbent Eva Skuratowicz and Misha Hernandez are running for Position 3, and Rebecca Dyson and Sarah Beata DeLong are running for Position 4.

All six candidates are expected to participate in the nonpartisan forum, which is sponsored by the Mountain Meadows Democrats+.

According to David Lane, president of Mountain Meadows Democrats+, candidates will be asked a range of questions during the forum. Some of the questions will be known to the candidates, and some unknown.

According to the Voters’ Pamphlet, Jackson, Hernandez and DeLong are running as a “slate.” DeLong’s Voters’ Pamphlet message states, “The three of us share the core values of equity, inclusion and access; we believe that everyone in the district — students, teachers, families and staff — should get the resources they need to succeed in school.”

Skuratowicz has been a board member since 2009, and Franko has served on the Ashland Board of Education Bond Oversight Committee and on the Ashland School District Budget Committee. Dyson has served on Ashland High School’s site council and sits on the AHS Arts Advocates board.