fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Skuratowicz likely to retain spot on Ashland School Board

Ashland School Board chair Eva Skuratowicz was in great position to retain her position on the board after gaining a big early lead over Misha Hernandez, and Jill Franko and Rebecca Dyson were on the verge of securing their own seats as preliminary results from local school board elections were released Tuesday night.

The results won’t become official until all the votes are counted, but Skuratowicz, the director of Southern Oregon University’s research center, appears headed toward a fourth four-year term since joining the Ashland School Board in 2009. She had a 2,224-vote lead in the race for position 3 after 4,952 votes were counted, representing a 72.3%-27.4% cushion.

The other races in Ashland were similarly lopsided. Franko collected 70.5% of the votes and had a 2,020-vote lead over Natalie Jackson in the race for position 1 late Tuesday, and Dyson earned 69.1% of the votes and had a 1,886-vote lead over Sarah Beata DeLong in the battle for position 4.

Hernandez, Jackson and DeLong ran on a slate focusing on equity and inclusion, supporting working families and developing community partnerships.