fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Jackson County upcoming races

Jacksonville and Talent will see contested races in the Nov. 2 election, while a slew of other small towns in Jackson County will rely on incumbents or write-ins.

Here's the list:

Five candidates, including two incumbents, have filed for three open, four-year seats on City Council. Only one candidate seeks an open seat with a two-year term.

Councilmen John Dodero and Dan Winterburn will campaign for four-year terms, along with former Mayor Jim Lewis, Paul Hayes and Planning Commissioner David Jesser. The top three vote-getters will fill the council seats.

Christina Duane is the lone candidate for the two-year position, which will fill the vacancy created when Councilwoman Linda Meyers resigned in July. Joyce Coleman completed the process to run for the position, but has withdrawn for health reasons, said City Recorder Jan Garcia.

Councilman Bill Cecil and former Councilwoman Darby Stricker will vie for the mayor's position. Mayor Don Steyskal is not seeking re-election.

Cecil has been on council since January 2007 in Seat 5. Stricker was a council member earlier in the decade and now serves on both the planning and parks commissions.

Single candidates have filed for each of three City Council seats: Chris Auer, a member of the city's budget committee, for Seat 1; Dan Goyette, who lost a race for council in 2008, for Seat 3; and Diane Glendenning, a member of the parks and planning commissions, for Seat 5.

Former Ashland Mayor John Morrison, who had said he was going to file for Seat 3, did not turn in an application. Morrison had been appointed to the seat in March to fill a vacancy created by a resignation.

Mayor Ron Ormond and City Council members Jana Goodman and Diana Holm, all incumbents, will seek re-election. A four-year council position will be filled via write-in, as Ned Soso is not running again.

First-term Mayor Bucky Steffen and Councilwoman Donna Silva will seek re-election. Longtime resident Lorraine Parks will seek one of the two remaining seats; the other will have to be filled by write-in. Current Butte Falls Municipal Court Judge William Martin has put his name in the hat for serving as Gold Hill's municipal court judge. The city approached Martin about the position after approving funds this summer to hire a code enforcement officer. If elected, Martin would handle all non-traffic-related citations.

Shady Cove voters will see a list of familiar names, with Mayor Ronald Holthusen and Councilmen William Kyle and Gary Hughes running for re-election this fall. If elected, Holthusen would serve another two-year term while Kyle and Hughes, as councilmen, would each serve four years. All three positions are unopposed.

Mayor Carlos DeBritto and Councilmen Herman Blum, Mike McKey and Mike Stitt are all running unopposed.

Though the positions of mayor and three council members are up for grabs, city officials reported just one candidate for the November election: Mayor John Bond.