fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Election 2018: Candidates for Ashland offices finalized

No new candidates rushed in on the last day to run for local officers, leaving the final tally at 20 candidates running for nine seats in Ashland: municipal court judge, city recorder, four of six seats on City Council and three of five on the Parks and Recreation Commission.

The deadline to file was at 5 p.m. Thursday. The candidates are:

Council position No. 2, currently held by Mike Morris, who has filed for reelection. Challenging him are Theodore White and Tonya Graham.

Council position No. 3., to which Jackie Bachman was appointed by the council after Councilor Greg Lemhouse resigned in February. Bachman, Alfred Willslatter and Julie Akins filed.

Council position No. 4, currently held by Stefani Seffinger, who has filed for reelection. Now challenging her is Carol Voisin.

Council position No. 6 is currently held by Stephen Jensen, who was appointed by the council after Traci Darrow stepped down when she moved outside city limits. He has filed for reelection. Challenging him are George Kramer and Randy Dolinger.

Parks commissioner No. 3 — Incumbent Michael Gardiner is being challenged by Timothy Kelly.

Parks commissioner No. 4 — Jim Bachman and Julian Bell are running for the seat currently held by Matt Miller, who did not file for reelection.

Parks commissioner No. 5 — Incumbent Rick Landt is challenged by Howard McEwan.

Municipal Court Judge — Incumbent Pamela Turner is the sole candidate.

City Recorder — Current office holder Melissa Huhtala, who was appointed by the council, remains the sole candidate.

Election day is Nov. 6.

Tidings file photoKim Keller of Ashland drops off a ballot for a friend in the voting drop behind the Ashland Public Library in 2014.