fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Ashland City Council candidate forum set for Tuesday

A non-partisan Ashland City Council candidates’ forum is set to start at 7 p.m. Tuesday, Oct. 9, at the Rogue Valley Unitarian Universalist Fellowship Hall at 87 Fourth St., Ashland.

Pam Marsh, Ashland’s 5th District representative in Salem, will moderate.

The forum is presented by Mountain Meadows Democrats Plus and the RVUUF.

Eleven candidates are running for four Ashland City Council seats.

Running for council position 2 are incumbent Michael Morris and challengers Theodore White and Tonya Graham.

Candidates for position 3 are appointed incumbent Jackie Bachman, Alfred Willstatter and Julie Akins.

Candidates for position 4 are incumbent Stefani Seffinger and Carol Voisin.

Candidates for position 6 are appointed incumbent Stephen Jensen, George Kramer and Randy Dolinger.

Organizer David Lane said 10 of the 11 candidates have indicated they plan to be present.

The terms of the other council members — Mayor John Stromberg, Dennis Slattery (Position 1) and Rich Rosenthal (Position 5) — continue through 2020.

Candidates can also be seen on video. The Ashland Chamber of Commerce has videotaped fall legislative candidate forums for a number of contests of local interest.

Besides Ashland’s City Council races, the others are state senator (District 3), state representative (District 5), Jackson County Commissioner (Positions 1 and 3), Jackson County Sheriff, and Ashland Parks & Recreation Commissioners (Positions 3, 4 and 5).

To view the videos, which range from about 30 to 50 minutes, go to ashlandchamber.com/LegislativeForums, or check your RVTV cable channel schedule.

The voter registration deadline for the Nov. 6 election is midnight Tuesday, Oct. 16. For more information and to register to vote, go to oregonvotes.gov.

Election 2018