fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Students honored by YMCA

The Rogue Valley Family YMCA on Nov. 17 honored local high school students who go above and beyond in their service to the community.

Eleven teens received special recognition this year known as the Character Award. The award recognizes teens who live the values of caring, honesty, respect and responsibility demonstrated through volunteer and community service.

They are:

  • Heather Bemis, Crater School of Business, Innovation and Science
  • Ryan Trask, St. Mary’s School
  • Dylan Moncus, Logos Public Charter School
  • Chalise Kadin, Crater Renaissance Academy
  • Rocio Hernandez, Phoenix High School
  • Mahal Miles, North Medford High School
  • Kaitlin Christian, Crater Academy of Health and Public Services
  • Tyler Easton, South Medford High School
  • Dania Delacruz, Central Medford High School
  • Mason Bailey, Cascade Christian High School
  • Brandon Boatwright, Eagle Point High School

Three other teenagers received recognition because they were the 2016 Pear Blossom Run scholarship winners receiving money for college tuition. Jordon Monroe, Crater High School, Amy Watson, South Medford High School, and Marissa Dobry, St. Mary’s School, were selected for their running ability and academic standing.