fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Wauge captures season finale

WHITE CITY — Mark Wauge became this season’s ninth different winner Saturday when he won the 25-lap IMCA Modified main event at Southern Oregon Speedway to conclude the 2017 racing season.

Kevin Hewitt set the early pace ahead of Wauge, who applied the pressure on Hewitt until making the winning pass on the outside in Turn 4 of the 17th lap. Wauge led the rest of the way, with Preston Jones taking second. New champion Jesse Bailey battled Hewitt for a third-place finish, as Tim Bailey rounded out the top five.

Mike Medel wrapped up his second IMCA Sport Modified championship with his second 20-lap main event win of the season. Matt Sanders led for 16 laps, and Medel gained second on lap eight as Randy Wright spun in Turn 2. Medel closed in on Sanders and made a low pass in Turn 4 of the 17th lap to take the lead. Medel led the rest of the way to win ahead of Sanders, trophy dash winner Willie McFall, Wright and Tony Bartell.

Bob Dees won his second 20-lap Late Model main of the season. Dees also won the four-lap trophy dash. Heat race winner Garrett Dees led the first 12 laps before his father, Bob Dees, raced into the lead. Garrett Dees did a good job of holding off new champion Nathan Augustine for second until Augustine pitted late. Bob Dees won ahead of Garrett Dees, Dave Foote, Chris Biggs and Kristy Grout.

Rob Gergel won his first 20-lap SODCA Dwarf Car main event of the season. B-dash winner Gergel charged into the early lead, and incoming point leader Brock Peters slowed and pitted on a lap-two restart. Kalvin Morton moved into second on Lap 6 and spent the rest of the race looking high and low for a way around Gergel. However, Gergel stayed cool under pressure and won ahead of Morton, A-dash winner Chad Cardoza, Josh King and Cody Peters.

David Steele capped a clean sweep with his fifth 20-lap Mini Stock main event victory. Steele had the pole and sprinted out to the lead at the start. The battle was for second, and Michael Johnson's lap seven caution flag pit stop seemed to hurt his chances.

However, Johnson made an impressive charge to the front and had third at the white flag. An outside pass in Turn 2 gained Johnson second from Mix, but he was a straightaway behind Steele at that point. Mix wrapped up the track championship with a third-place finish as Hall and Dillen Lausen rounded out the top five.

Late Models

Heat winner (six laps): Garrett Dees. Trophy dash (four laps): Bob Dees. Main event (25 laps): Bob Dees, Garrett Dees, Dave Foote, Chris Biggs, Kristy Grout.

IMCA Modifieds

Heat winners (six laps): Mark Wauge, Jesse Bailey. Trophy dash (four laps): Jesse Bailey. Main event (25 laps): Mark Wauge, Preston Jones, Jesse Bailey, Kevin Hewitt, Tim Bailey.

IMCA Sport Modifieds

Heat winners (six laps): David Marble, Willie McFall. Trophy dash (four laps): Willie McFall. Main event (20 Laps): Mike Medel, Matt Sanders, Willie McFall, Randy Wright, Tony Bartell.

SODCA Dwarf Cars

Heat winners (six laps): Brock Peters, Chad Cardoza. A dash (four laps): Chad Cardoza. B dash (six laps): Rob Gergel. Main event (20 laps): Rob Gergel, Kalvin Morton, Chad Cardoza, Josh King, Cody Peters.

Mini Stocks

Heat winners (six laps): David Steele, Andrew Hall. Trophy dash (four laps): David Steele. Main event (20 laps): David Steele, Michael Johnson, Kristopher Mix, Andrew Hall, Dillen Lausen.