fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

AIFF announces film award winners

Award winners from the 2018 Ashland Independent Film Festival were announced Tuesday.

Winners from the 17th annual festival, which ran April 12-16 and included 120 films, were:

Juried Awards

Best documentary: “América”

Special Jury Recognition: “Mr. Fish: Cartooning from the Deep End”

Best documentary feature editing: “Minding the Gap”

Special Jury Recognition: “Five Seasons: The Gardens of Piet Oudolf”

Best narrative feature: “Fort Maria”

Special Jury Recognition: “Wild Honey”

Best narrative feature cinematography: “Fort Maria”

Special Jury Recognition: “The Last Hot Lick”

Best documentary short: “Commodity City”

Special Jury Recognition: “The Last Honey Hunter”

Best narrative short: “So Much Yellow”

Special Jury Recognition: “Game”

Audience Awards

Varsity Audience Award, Narrative Feature: “For Izzy”

Rogue Creamery Audience Award, Feature Length Documentary: “Liyana” and “Skid Row Marathon” (tie)

Jim Teece Audience Award, Narrative Short: “Game”

Audience Award, Documentary Short: “Little Potato”

Special Tribute Awards

Rogue Awards: Chris Cooper and Lynn Shelton

Pride Award: Zackary Drucker

Indie Institutions: Milestone Films and International Documentary Association