fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Awards and Honors

St. Mary's High School Kiwanis Students of the Month for February 2010 are Louis Arne and Lauren Gambee.

Louis Arne, son of Vicky and Lou Arne, has a grade-point average of 3.73 and is a senior at St. Mary's High School.

His academic achievements include the honor roll each semester and National Honor Society.

His extracurricular activities include participating in varsity soccer, playing the piano, Rogue Valley Youth Ensemble, church youth group, Interact Club and community service.

His awards and accomplishments include being an Eagle Scout.

He plans to attend Brigham Young University in the fall.

Lauren Gambee, daughter of Stephen and Judy Gambee, is a senior at St. Mary's High School, where she maintains a 4.01 grade-point average. Her academic achievements include the honor roll each semester and National Honor Society.

Her extracurricular activities include being the Children's Festival Booth chair, Mayor's Youth Advisory Committee, Interact Club, Catholic Charities volunteer, Mock Trial Varsity Team (attorney) and working at Rogue Disposal and Recycling.

Her awards and accomplishments include the Outstanding Historical Argumentation Award and the F. Douglas & Susan B. Anthony Award.

Lauren's post-graduation plans are to attend a university and major in economics.

Ashland Elks Lodge No. 944 recognized the "Most Valuable Student" award recipients on Feb. 24.

The Ashland Elks received approximately 40 applications from Ashland High School and Phoenix High School students. Of these applications, the field was narrowed down to six boys and six girls. These students were interviewed by committee members Tim McCartney, Mike Ainsworth, Matt Christensen, Pam Turner and Larry Christensen.

Based on the application review process, the following students were chosen to receive scholarship awards:

  • First-place winners: Marie-Elizabeth Keil and Jason Bluhm — $1,200 each.
  • Second-place winners: Jem Kloor and Max Bloch-Kiss — $1,000 each.
  • Third-place winners: Allisa Olson and Nicolas Hall — $750 each.

The scholarship funds awarded are based on the interest received annually from the Harrison Fund for College Scholarships.

The applications from the first-place winners were submitted to the district level for judging, and Marie-Elizabeth Keil received an additional $1,200 for a third-place award.

Two teams from Abraham Lincoln Elementary School competed April 10 in the Oregon Battle of the Books state championship.

Members of the school's sixth grade competed in the Middle School classification and finished in the top eight, while the elementary school team was among the 14 finalists competing. Coached by Michelle Wisely, both teams had advanced to the championship by winning regional competitions.

The middle school team members were Shane Bechtel, Hannah Olivadoti, Tyler Williams, Tanner Boone and Heather Doan. The elementary-division team consisted of Kate Poet, Sean Milligan, Ashlynn Hokanson, Hayden Stults and Jakob Lennick.

The championships were held at Chemeketa Community College in Salem in the third annual state tournament that featured top teams from seven regions, with 334 participating schools.

Oregon Battle of the Books features a 16-book reading list for each division in a quiz-show format that pits teams of four against other teams. Points are awarded for correct answers to questions taken from the books on the reading list.

The following students from Jackson County received 2010 winter term degrees from the University of Oregon in Eugene. They will participate in the spring commencement on Monday, June 14, and their names will appear in the spring commencement program.


Joseph Thomas Fallon, bachelor's degree, business administration; Hillary Anne Davis, bachelor's degree, journalism/public relations.


Lindsay Dawn Gasik, bachelor's degree, Spanish; Katlyn Marie Hanson, bachelor's degree, psychology and religious studies; Ingrid Wahlberg, bachelor's degree, Spanish.


Timothy Edward Kuzma, bachelor's degree, architecture.


Olivia Leigh Bauer, bachelor's degree, psychology; Nicholas Ian Lougee, doctor of philosophy, sociology.


Kristine N. Jensen, bachelor's degree, political science and Spanish.