fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Mail Tribune 100

Feb. 7, 1918


Medford people are particularly interested in the 10th and 20th regiments of engineers because so many Medford and Rogue river valley boys are members of these "lumberjack" regiments. The 10th engineers went to France early in the winter and several Battalions of the 20th are already "over there." These regiments are fully equipped with logging and sawmill machinery and are producing ties, bridge and trench timbers and lumber for military uses from the French forests. The 20th has the unique distinction of being the largest regiment in the world. When completed it will have approximately 7.500 names on its roster.

There is urgent need of sweaters and wristlets for these regiments. Many ladies of Medford have pledged their services to knit these garments and many others have contributed articles of home cooking to a food sale which will be held in booth 21 at the public market Saturday, Feb. 9, for the purpose of raising funds for the purchase of yarn for the sweaters and wristlets.


Residents in the neighborhood of 10th and Ivy streets will soon have cause for rejoicing, for the rickety old frame buildings on the north side of 10th street, opposite the Free Methodist church, will be torn down in a few days by order of the city council.

These structures have long been an eyesore to the vicinity and long ago residents of the neighborhood petitioned the council to have them razed. The buildings are uninhabited except for tramps who every once in a while locate in them. Patience reached its limit with the council and at last Tuesday night's meeting it was decided to have the city tear down the structures. Mayor Gates will tell Fire Chief Lawton to go ahead with the work in a few days.