fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

State-champion Challengers place two on SCL first team

The Cascade Christian boys basketball team had many offensive weapons at its disposal this season en route to a Southern Cascade League co-championship and a Class 2A state championship.

But none were more lethal or clutch than seniors Josh Heidegger and Andrew Shipley.

Both Heidegger, a 6-foot-3 wing, and Shipley, a shooting guard, were named to the all-SCL first team recently, as voted on by the league coaches. The SCL policy is not to release all-league voting until after the 2A state tournament.

Joining the two Challengers on the first team were St. Mary's senior guard Chris Sutton, Lakeview junior Jordan Kiely and Bonanza seniors John Laidet and Kyle Gomez.

Gomez, who along with Heidegger was a first-team member last season, was named the player of the year after helping the Antlers to a share of the league crown. Cascade Christian's Brian Morse shared coach-of-the-year honors with Bonanza's Rob Nieraeth.

Heidegger, the SCL co-player of the year last season, was a do-it-all threat, with the ability to beat defenders off the dribble or from the perimeter. His 13.9 point-per-game average in league was tops on the team.

Shipley, a deadly outside shooter, averaged 13.8 points in the SCL, including an 18.4 ppg clip over the Challengers' final five league games.

Sutton scored 10.8 points per game in SCL action for the Crusaders, who finished third in league and runner-up to rival Cascade Christian at the state tournament.

Challengers sophomore post Scott Morse and St. Mary's junior guard Max O'Sullivan were named to the second team, while Cascade Christian senior defensive standout Daniel Shipley and Crusaders sophomore post Jacob Midtlyng made the third team.

SCL All-Stars

FIRST TEAM — Kyle Gomez, Bonanza, sr.; Josh Heidegger, Cascade Christian, sr.; Andrew Shipley, Cascade Christian, sr.; Jordan Kiely, Lakeview, jr.; John Laidet, Bonanza, sr.; Chris Sutton, St. Mary's, sr.

Player of the year — Kyle Gomez, Bonanza.

Co-coaches of the year — Brian Morse, Cascade Christian; Rob Nieraeth, Bonanza.

SECOND TEAM — Scott Morse, Cascade Christian, so.; Max O'Sullivan, St. Mary's, jr.; Cort Cox, Lost River, jr.; Kasey Clemens, Lakeview, so.; Daniel Clark, Bonanza, jr.

THIRD TEAM — Jaimo Jackson, Chiloquin, sr.; Daniel Shipley, Cascade Christian, sr.; Jacob Midtlyng, St. Mary's, so.; Brent Munson, Bonanza, sr.; Julian Cazarez, Lost River, sr.