fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Panthers, Tornado honored; prepare for playoffs Saturday

Six representatives from North Medford and five from South Medford were named to boys soccer all-Southwest Conference teams released Thursday.

North Medford, the second place finisher out of the SWC, had senior midfielders Tony Barbieri and Leo Keiser as well as senior goalkeeper Jace Snyder on the first team.

South Medford's junior forward Beto Cortez and sophomore forward Brian Avila were first-team performers for the Panthers, the fourth seed out of the SWC with a 6-4 record.

South Eugene's Andrew Meyer earned Player of the Year honors after the Axemen won the SWC with a 9-1 record. South Eugene's Jurgen Ruckaberle and Roseburg's Kevin Hunt were co-coaches of the year.

Snyder, the league's top goalkeeper, helped North Medford to a 6-3-1 record in conference play. He had three shutouts and allowed just 15 goals in 14 games this season, much in part to the play of Barbieri and Keiser.

Cortez and Avila accounted for 10 of the Panthers' 17 goals this season. Both players, who started as freshman, had five goals and four assists on the year, helping the Panthers claim the fourth seed out of the SWC with a 6-4 record.

"They were very vital, no question," South Medford coach Dave Kaufman said. "They are extremely crafty and they bring a flair that is generally not seen in high school soccer. You have special players come along like that every so often."

The Panthers' junior Raul Tovak was named to the second team and seniors Santiago Guerrero and Gilmar Lopez-Cruz were named honorable mention.

North's Andy Robinson, a senior defender, was named to the second team, while senior midfielder John Clarke and senior defender Justin Taylor were honorable mention.

North Medford opens the playoffs Saturday at 3 p.m. with a first-round match at Wilson. South Medford is also on the road in the opening round, traveling to Clackamas on Saturday for a 4 p.m. match.

Boys SWC All-Stars

FIRST TEAM — Andrew Meyer, South Eugene; Steven Strickland, Roseburg; Beto Cortez, South Medford; Dallas Bille, Grants Pass; Alex Dakers, South Eugene; Tony Barbieri, North Medford; Brian Avila, South Medford; Leo Keiser, North Medford; Keegan Albi, South Eugene; Garrett Clay, Sheldon.

Goalie — Jace Snyder, North Medford.

Player of the Year — Andrew Meyer, South Eugene.

Co-Coaches of the Year — Jurgen Ruckaberle, South Eugene; Kevin Hunt, Roseburg.

SECOND TEAM — Apolinar Montero-Sanchez, South Eugene; Josh Couch, Roseburg; Raul Tovak, South Medford; Dion Coxe, South Eugene; Brady Sheriff, Roseburg; Andy Robinson, North Medford; Manny Mendoza, Roseburg; Ian Smith, South Eugene; Mickey Allapach, Grants Pass; Louis Poucinelli, Sheldon

Goalie — Evan Turner, South Eugene.

HONORABLE MENTION — Jaron Wilson, Sheldon; Brad Bevens, Sheldon; Jake Sheehan, Sheldon; Eddie Mendoza, Grants Pass; Russel Wilcox, Grants Pass; Matt Satterhouste, Grants Pass; Santiago Guerrero, South Medford; Gilmar-Lopez Cruz, South Medford; John Clarke, North Medford; Justin Taylor, North Medford; Tory Lunn, Roseburg; Aaron Funderburk, Roseburg; Andy Whitmore, South Eugene.

Reach reporter Luke Andrews at 776-4469, or e-mail landrews@mailtribune.com