fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Roseburg, GP garner awards in Southwest

Roseburg nabbed five first-team all-Southwest Conference softball selections and Grants Pass and Sheldon each earned four spots as voted on by league coaches recently.

Senior Mikayla Endicott, who is headed to the University of Oregon, was named pitcher of the year for the second straight season for the Indians, while Caver sophomore center fielder Tara Glover was chosen player of the year. Roseburg's Tony Campos was named coach of the year after guiding the Indians to an unbeaten SWC campaign and a berth into the Class 6A state championship game this Saturday against Grants Pass.

Glover provided power and speed for the Cavers at the leadoff spot during Grants Pass' runner-up finish in the SWC.

She batted .431 in conference play and hit three of her five home runs during the 15-game SWC stretch. Glover also had 22 RBIs, 10 stolen bases and did not commit an error in the field.

"I've watched a lot of teams play at a high level this season and I have not seen a better player than Tara Glover," said GP coach Tom Blanchard. "I think she is just an outstanding softball player and she should be right up there for the state (player of the year) award."

Endicott mowed through the SWC with a 14-0 record. She had 174 strikeouts and sported a 0.42 ERA during that time to lead the Indians.

North Medford had one first-teamer in senior infielder Bri Williams.

Williams, who played with St. Mary's the three previous seasons, batted .400 in SWC play to go with three stolen bases, three doubles and a home run. She also posted a .533 slugging percentage and had eight RBIs.

Joining Endicott on the first team for Roseburg were catcher Tori Walker, infielders Nikki Bassett and Crysta Conn and outfielder Whitney Harris.

Pitcher Morgan Barnes, infielder Karleigh Prestianni and designated hitter/utility player Chelsey Chamberlain joined Glover on the first team for the Cavers.

Sheldon's Tami Brown (catcher), Teea Rogers (infield), Taylor Pangilinan (infield) and Chloe Buerstatte (outfield) rounded out the first team.

Of the first-team picks, only Walker, Brown, Bassett and Williams were not repeat selections.

North Medford had second-team selections in freshman Amanda Wolfe (catcher), junior Taylor Schmidt (pitcher, utility/DH) and Justine Sandoval.

South Medford was represented on the second team by senior infielder Kinzie Towry and senior outfielder Rocky Hiett.

All-SWC Softball


Player Pos School Yr

Tori Walker C Roseburg Sr.

Tami Brown C Sheldon Jr.

Mikayla Endicott P Roseburg Sr.

Morgan Barnes P Grants Pass So.

Karleigh Prestianni IF Grants Pass Jr.

Teea Rogers IF Sheldon Jr.

Nikki Bassett IF Roseburg Jr.

Crysta Conn IF Roseburg So.

Taylor Pangilinan IF Sheldon Sr.

Bri Williams IF N. Medford Sr.

Tara Glover OF Grants Pass So.

Whitney Harris OF Roseburg Sr.

Chloe Buerstatte OF Sheldon Sr.

Chelsey Chamberlain DH/U Grants Pass Sr.

Player of the year — Tara Glover, Grants Pass.

Pitcher of the year — Mikayla Endicott, Roseburg.

Coach of the year — Tony Campos.


Amanda Wolfe C N. Medford Fr.

Chelsey Chamberlain P Grants Pass Sr.

Taylor Schmidt P N. Medford Jr.

Katie Steigleman IF Sheldon Sr.

Kinzie Towry IF S. Medford Sr.

Cami Bennett IF Grants Pass Jr.

Justine Sandoval IF N. Medford Sr.

Alyssa DesBiens IF Roseburg Sr.

Jazmine Crowe IF Roseburg Sr.

Rocky Hiett OF S. Medford Sr.

Kendra George OF Roseburg Sr.

Cadee Kinne OF Roseburg Jr.

Taylor Schmidt DH/U N. Medford Jr.

HONORABLE MENTION — Emily Woolf, C, Grants Pass, Jr.; Whitney James, C, South Medford, Jr.; Sienna Stanley, P, Sheldon, Sr.; T.J. Schmidt, IF, North Medford, Fr.; Krystin Jantzer, IF, Grants Pass, So.; Sydney Hodgson, IF, South Eugene, Jr.; Kaitlyn Patterson, OF, Sheldon, Sr.; Lindy Sippola, OF, Grants Pass, Jr.; McKenna Storey, OF, North Medford, So.; Camille Smith, OF, South Medford, So.; Breanne Thomas, DH/UT, Roseburg, Fr.; Taylor Taggart, DH/UT, Sheldon, Fr.

Reach reporter Kevin Goff at 776-4483, or e-mail kgoff@mailtribune.com