fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

North Medford wins title at Eagle Point Invitational

EAGLE POINT — Cory Haggans led a balanced North Medford squad as the Black Tornado wrestlers claimed the team title in the Eagle Point Invitational on Saturday.

Haggans won the 152-pound championship in nerve-racking fashion and received plenty of support as North Medford scored 208.5 points to edge Eagle Point (187.5).

"I thought we did well and came together as a team," said North coach Nolan Harris. "Kids kinda role-played and, even thought they didn't place, they were picking up bonus points for us."

"To come out with a tournament victory is always exciting," he added, "especially when you're facing teams like Eagle Point."

Haggans built a 5-2 lead on Brandon Jordan of Sheridan High in California, but the latter fought back with about 30 seconds to go. Jordan caught Haggans for a takedown to make it 5-4 and worked to gain points by putting the Black Tornado on his back. But Haggans fought hard to maintain his lead.

North Medford also received second-place efforts from Kody Bonham (189) and Robert Ross (285) and third-place outings from Kade Peden (160) and Ammon Ebert (135).

Peden's finish was especially gratifying since he was able to avenge a Thursday loss to Grants Pass' Jose Cruz in the third-place final.

South Medford finished sixth with 97.5 points and crowned a champion in Ken Hyland at 160. Steven Lines added a second-place finish at 135 to help pace the Panthers.

Garrett Davis led Eagle Point with a second-place showing at 160, while Ashland's Issa Shahin was second at 171 and Dylan Fauver of Grants Pass was second at 140.

Eagle Point Invitational

TEAM SCORES - North Medford 208.5, Eagle Point 187.5, South Umpqua 186, Henley 169, Churchill 156.5, Sheridan 144, South Medford 97.5, Grants Pass 96, South Salem 90, Klamath Union 85.5, Eagle Point2 63, Brookings-Harbor 56, North Medford2 55, Corvallis 54, Del Norte 53, Henley2 49, Ashland 39, Portola 36, South Salem2 31, Etna 29, Mt. Shasta 29, Churchill2 23, University Prep 22, Corvallis2 18, South Umpqua2 16, South Medford2 15, Sheridan2 12, Weed 12, Brookings-Harbor2 10, University Prep2 3.

Championship Finals

103 - Brandon Bowers, SU, p. Joe Potts, Chu, 5:51; 112 - Brian Bowers, SU, p. Russell Pascual, Chu, 1:54; 119 - Ruben Almazan, Cor, dec. Lamont Hook, Hen2, 6-4; 125 - Daniel Scott, She, p. Tanner Herman, Por, 5:41; 130 - Aaron David, Hen, p. Nick Schwall, Etna, :45.

135 - Bruce Balcita, SU, dec. Steven Lines, SM, 6-0; 140 - Zac Brunson, Chu, maj. dec. Dylan Fauver, GP, 17-4; 145 - Adam Swogger, SS, inj. default over Stephen Aunz, SS2; 152 - Cory Haggans, NM, dec. Brandon Jordan, She, 5-4.

160 - Ken Hyland, SM, dec. Garrett Davis, EP, 6-4; 171 - Brett Mathes, Hen, dec. Issa Shahin, Ash, 5-2; 189 - Bo Yonker, SU, maj. dec. Kody Bonham, NM, 11-1; 215 - Clayton Lent, SU, p. Kyle Rehberger, Chu, 3:27; 285 - RJ Harter, Hen, p. Robert Ross, NM, 3:00.

Third-Fourth Finals

103 - Jordan Lacy, DN, dec. Zorg Loustaht, Hen, 10-5; 112 - Josh Coker, KU, maj. dec. Tyler Moser, W, 11-0; 119 - Ben Zomerdyk, EP, p. Matthew Buchanan, MtS, 2:40; 125 - Daniel Soto, EP, dec. Sierra Land, SM, 3-1; 130 - Kambral Cannefax, SS, dec. Alex Littlefair, GP, 11-6.

135 - Ammon Ebert, NM, dec. Trent Kaiser, EP, 8-2; 140 - Chris Wilson, EP, p. Tyler Rookstool, SS, 1:45; 145 - Donovan Transue, Hen, p. Will Bales, Chu, 5:27; 152 - Josh Winter, EP, maj. dec. Gage Baumer, EP2, 14-5.

160 - Kade Peden, NM, dec. Jose Cruz, GP, 6-4; 171 - Steven Josephson, EP, dec. Mark Dickison, NM, 9-6; 189 - Doug VonEuen, She, p. Justin Rick, KU, 1:59; 215 - Cody Rick, KU, p. Nik Bieter, EP, :40; 285 - Brice Haskell, She, p. Spencer Mills, Chu2, 4:20.

Fifth-Sixth Finals

103 - Pete Peterson, B-H, p. Mario Barajas, EP, 2:00; 112 - Edgar Cox, NM, p. Jesse Ledbetter, NM, 1:42; 119 - Dylan Sites, NM, p. Nathan Milsap, She, 1:23; 125 - Joe Baynes, SU2, p. Kirk Blay-Waas, KU, :10; 130 - Travis Woods, EP, p. Luis Rodriquez, EP2, 2:51.

135 - Chase Kearney, Chu, p. Tim Thompson, NM2, 1:53; 140 - Michael Rake, SM, p. Neiko Skogseth, EP2, 1:58; 145 - Cody Wedman, NM, p. Dustin Paradis, B-H, 3:28; 152 - Jake Scarminach, Ash, dec. Branden Todd, NM2, 8-1.

160 - Devin Cavan, She, dec. Ron Hunt, B-H2, 8-3; 171 - Taylor Marasco, EP2, p. Devin Jordan, She, 5:53; 189 - Scott Hunt, UP, p. Josh Woods, Cor, 3:21; 215 - Parker Goodwin, GP, dec. Myles Converse, NM, 6-1; 285 - Will Morse, KU, dec. Chance Crane, SU, 9-5.

RESER'S TOURNAMENT OF CHAMPIONS — At Hillsboro, Crater's Brock Gutches went undefeated to win the 160-pound division and teammate Brandon Hesse was second at heavyweight in the top-flight event at Liberty High.

The tournament brings together the top competitors from all of Oregon's classifications.

The Comets finished eighth in the team race with 92 points. Roseburg won with 201, followed by Newberg (151) and Hermiston (135).

Gutches won all five of his matches, including two by fall. He knocked off two unbeaten opponents in the semifinals and finals.

In the semis, Gutches defeated reigning Class 4A state champ John Tuck from La Grande, 6-3. In the finals, he stopped Brandon Griffin of Sprague, 5-1.

Hesse pinned his first four opponents before losing 6-2 to Shaun Palakiko of Cleveland, last year's 5A state winner.

Also for the Comets, Kenny Fahndrich was fourth at 171, and Logan Brooks and freshman Truman Winningham were sixth at 189 and 103, respectively.

Brooks knocked of the No. 2 seed in his weight class in the first round Friday despite dislocating a big toe two days prior.