fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Four Panthers make SWC first team

In an all-conference list dominated by Southwest Conference champion Sheldon and runner-up Roseburg, South Medford earned four first-team selections in recent voting by the conference's coaches.

South Medford senior Allen Fitzsimmons was the lone Panther to earn a spot on the first-team offense, while defensive end Brett Wallan and safety Josh Havird were joined on the other side of the ball by punter Josh Milhollin.

The father-son duo at Sheldon of Marty and Jordan Johnson were named the SWC's coach and offensive player of the year, respectively. Roseburg linebacker Lucas Corder was named the SWC defensive player of the year.

Jordan Johnson completed 119 of 161 passes for 2,220 yards with 33 touchdowns and only two interceptions during the regular season. The senior quarterback finished third in the conference with 799 yards and 12 TDs on 83 carries.

While North Medford didn't gain any first-team recognition, five players were named to the second team, including junior receiver Jeremy Scottow, senior placekicker Scott Higgins, senior defensive end Mark Dickison, senior linebacker Cory Haggans and senior cornerback Steven Petersen.

That group helped pave the way for North Medford to get back into the state playoffs for the first time since 2005.

Fitzsimmons, who had played quarterback until this season, led South Medford with 40 catches for 600 yards and six touchdowns during the regular season.

"He probably of all the kids this year was our most pleasant surprise," said Panthers coach Bill Singler. "He's a competitor and just has a great attitude about the game and is the ultimate team player. To end up getting first-team all-league is a great tribute to Allen and just how he persevered. It's a good ending to a great story."

Wallan, a senior who also served as a fullback and tight end, provided a dominant push for the Panthers on the defensive line to cap a stellar career.

"He really made an impact with us as a sophomore in 2007 and has really contributed a lot to our success on defense," said Singler. "It's not easy to just stay and play at that level when you achieved a lot as a sophomore but he did. He's really developed into a fine football player, not only on defense but on offense."

Havird, a junior, provided a key steadying influence for South Medford in the secondary and doubled as one of the team's top receivers with 33 catches for 435 yards and seven scores in the regular season.

"Josh just has a nose for the football and just loves sports," said Singler. "He's a terrific three-sport athlete. Whatever the sport season is, Josh is going to be there giving everything he's got. We'll be glad to have him back next year."

Milhollin, who also was named second-team quarterback, was in his first season as the varsity punter but averaged 39 yards — second only to E.J. Singler's school-record average — to help the Panthers change field position. Overall, the senior also passed for 2,070 yards with 20 touchdowns and four interceptions.

"He is a legitimate punter and I think if he really took that as serious as he does quarterbacking, he probably would find that he does that as well as anything," said Singler. "He really came on at the end of the year and was punting exceptionally down the stretch, even with the bad ankle. He was over 42 yards per punt in the playoffs."

Southwest Conference All-Stars

First Team


Line — Center Cody Skinner, Sheldon, Sr.; guard Derek Nielson, Sheldon, Sr.; guard Drew Miner, Sheldon, Sr.; tackle Jesse Archambault, Roseburg, Sr.; tackle Nick Steele, Sheldon, Sr.

Quarterback — Jordan Johnson, Sheldon, Sr.

Running back — Josh Weaver, Roseburg, Sr.; Lucas Corder, Roseburg, Sr.; Cameron Abeene, Sheldon, Sr.

Wide receiver — John Campbell, Sheldon, Sr.; Allen Fitzsimmons, South Medford, Sr.; Spencer Coleman, South Eugene, Sr.

Tight end — Curtis White, Sheldon, Sr.

Kicker — Lucas Walker, Roseburg, Sr.


Line — Nick Steele, Sheldon, Sr.; Brett Wallan, South Medford, Sr.; Kristian Thorp, Sheldon, Jr.; Jesse Archambault, Roseburg, Sr.

Linebackers — Lucas Corder, Roseburg, Sr.; John Tardieu, Grants Pass, Sr.; Josh Weaver, Roseburg, Sr.; Ben Brathhovde, Sheldon, Jr.

Backs — Jordan Johnson, Sheldon, Sr.; John Campbell, Sheldon, Sr.; Derek Priestley, Roseburg, Sr.; Josh Havird, South Medford, Jr.

Punter — Josh Milhollin, South Medford, Sr.

OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Jordan Johnson, Sheldon.

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Lucas Corder, Roseburg.

COACH OF THE YEAR — Marty Johnson, Sheldon.

Second Team


Line — Center Kevin Thibeault, South Medford, Jr.; guard Brandon Wyscaver, Roseburg, Jr.; guard Jake Sartain, South Medford, Sr.; tackle Mark Combs, South Medford, Sr.; tackle Logan Haugen, Sheldon, Sr.

Quarterback — Josh Milhollin, South Medford, Sr.; Thaddeus Davis, Roseburg, Sr.

Running back — Aaron Moville, South Eugene, Sr.; Keenan Jordan, South Eugene, Sr.; Mario Sainez, South Medford, Sr.

Wide receiver — Josh Havird, South Medford, Jr.; Jeremy Scottow, North Medford, Jr.

Tight End — Derek Priestley, Roseburg, Sr.

Kicker — John Campbell, Sheldon, Sr.; Scott Higgins, North Medford, Sr.


Line — Mark Dickison, North Medford, Sr.; Derek Nielson, Sheldon, Sr.; Stephan Ceron, South Medford, Jr.; Marq Randall, Roseburg, So.

Linebackers — Curtis White, Sheldon, Sr.; Cory Haggans, North Medford, Sr.; Nate Thornton, South Medford, Sr.; Jack McCaskill, Sheldon, Sr.

Backs — Steven Petersen, North Medford, Sr.; Micah Audiss, Roseburg, Jr.; J.J. Juilfs, Sheldon, Jr.; Brock Dean, Grants Pass, Sr.

Punter — Mitch Huff, Roseburg, Sr.

Honorable Mention


Line — Center Aaron Stine, Grants Pass, Sr.; center Keenan Evans, South Eugene, Sr.; guard Nolan McManus, South Eugene, Jr.; guard Mychal DeSoto, North Medford, Sr.

Quarterback — Jordy Romick, Grants Pass, Sr.

Wide receiver — Micah Audiss, Roseburg, Jr.

Tight end — Cory Haggans, North Medford, Sr.; Gus Craig, South Eugene, Jr.; Ron Fields, Grants Pass, Sr.; Brandon Dollarhide, South Medford, Sr.

Kicker — Derek Priestley, Roseburg, Sr.


Line — Sam McCaskill, Sheldon, So.

Linebackers — Jay Tovey, Roseburg, Sr.; Gage Jacobson, North Medford, Jr.; Troy Bolivar, South Eugene, Sr.; Zach Willits, North Medford, Sr.

Backs — Derek Major, North Medford, Sr.; Keenan Jordan, South Eugene, Sr.; Loren Culberhouse, Roseburg, Sr.; Trevor Davies, Sheldon, Sr.

Punter — Curtis White, Sheldon, Sr.; Miquel Minchin, South Eugene, Sr.; Alex Tardieu, Grants Pass, Jr.

Reach reporter Kris Henry at 776-4488, or e-mail khenry@mailtribune.com