fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Jensen earns top honor in Skyline

From the moment he stepped on the campus at Phoenix High School, Geoff Jensen has been a starter on the boys soccer team and virtually impossible to take off the field for Pirates head coach Dennis Flenner.

As one of the team captains this past season, Jensen played a vital role in controlling play from his sweeper position in helping Phoenix to a No. 1 ranking in Class 4A and a Skyline Conference championship.

For his efforts, Jensen was tabbed by the conference's coaches as the Skyline's co-player of the year with high-scoring Henley forward Danny Celemin.

The Phoenix senior was joined on the Skyline first team by teammates Jalisco Macias (junior forward), Danny Giardina (senior midfielder) and Carlos Mena (senior goalkeeper).

The Pirates posted a 14-1 record and had their string of 13 straight shutouts snapped by a 1-0 loss to eventual state runner-up McLoughlin in the quarterfinals.

Flenner was honored by his peers as Skyline Conference coach of the year.

Skyline Conference All-Stars

FIRST TEAM — Geoff Jensen, Phoenix, Sr., Sweeper; Danny Celemin, Henley, Sr., Striker; Matthew Wessels, North Valley, Jr., Midfielder; Matthew Knitter, North Valley, Jr., Defender; Jalisco Macias, Phoenix, Jr., Forward; Danny Giardina, Phoenix, Sr., Midfielder; Carlos Mena, Phoenix, Sr., Goalkeeper; Jordan Crouse, Illinois Valley, Jr., Forward; Michael Kelly, Henley, Jr., Midfielder; Kyle Nelson, Hidden Valley, Sr., Defender; Jason Kellogg, Hidden Valley, Jr., Defender.

CO-PLAYERS OF THE YEAR — Geoff Jensen, Phoenix, and Danny Celemin, Henley.

COACH OF THE YEAR — Dennis Flenner, Phoenix.

SECOND TEAM — Rudy Hamilton, North Valley, Sr., Defender; Andy Buell, Phoenix, Jr., Defender; Luis Rocha, Phoenix, Jr., Defender; Danielle Katyama, Phoenix, Sr., Midfielder; Ben Kendall, Illinois Valley, Sr., Defender; Jovany Sanchez, Illinois Valley, Fr., Forward; Ryan Conley, Henley, Sr., Midfielder; Kord Hurst, Henley, Jr., Defender; Sean Demaris, Henley, Sr., Goalkeeper; Blake Andreasen, Hidden Valley, Sr., Striker/Goalkeeper; Travis Warwick, Hidden Valley, Sr., Defender.

HONORABLE MENTION — Zane Willing, North Valley, Jr., Midfielder; Miguel Diaz, Phoenix, Sr., Midfielder; Anthony Realmuto, Illinois Valley, Jr., Defender; Travis Mortenson, Henley, Jr., Striker; Cody Jones, Hidden Valley, Jr., Midfielder; Mitch Matheny, Hidden Valley, Jr., Midfielder.