fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Chieftains' Dees dominates, Rogue River pulls out split

ROGUE RIVER — Ranked second in the state at 160 pounds, Rogue River's John Dees tried his hand against another highly-rated wrestler from a heavier weight class on Thursday.

Dees took the challenge and was able to edge Myrtle Point's Eric Rains at 171 pounds in the best match of the night, despite Myrtle Point coasting with a 48-27 victory.

The Chieftains seized a 36-24 victory earlier in the evening against Lakeview. Also, Myrtle Point topped Lakeview.

"I wanted to see it because they are both tough," said Rogue River coach Dan Coulter on moving his star up a weight class. Dees claimed a 3-2 decision in the match.

"They (Myrtle Point) are stacked. But I don't think they were expecting that one," added Coulter. "We got one on them though. For the last minute and a half, John rode him out and Eric couldn't get away. It was a good match."

Dees also won his first match against Lakeview's Tanner Yarborough with a pin in 50 seconds.

Also capturing a pair of triumphs for Rogue River was Andrew Smith. It took him just 48 seconds to pin Lakeview's Marco Guitron and Smith earned a victory by forfeit against Myrtle Point.

TEAM SCORE — Rogue River 36, Lakeview 24.

*103 — double forfeit; 112 — double forfeit; 119 — Alex Mathews, RR, won by forfeit; 135 — Aaron Longtain, RR, pinned Eric Penoloza, LV, 4:32; 130 — double forfeit.

135 — Tony Mungarro, LV, dec. Dylan Dupont, RR, 10-1; 140 — Jay Lesne, LV, pinned Anthony Whipple, RR, 2:38; 145 — Michael Freitas, RR, pinned Jacob Klein, LV, :17; 152 — Alex Harris, RR, pinned Zack Crandle, LV, :52.

160 — John Dees, RR, pinned Tanner Yarborough, LV, :50; 171 — Andrew Smith, RR, pinned Marco Guitron, LV, 0:48; 189 — Tony Frank, LV, dec. Cody Worthington, RR, 8-1; 215 — Brock Sutfin, LV, maj. dec. Garrett Dees, RR, 10-1; 285 — Seth Ballaine, LV, won by forfeit.


TEAM SCORE — Myrtle Point 48, Rogue River 27.

103 — Eli Officer, MP, won by forfeit; 112 — Jimmy Harmon, MP, won by forfeit; 119 — Dallas Cagley, MP, pinned Alex Mathews, RR, :47; 125 — Aaron Longtain, RR, pinned Isaiah Sneed, LV, 1:00; 130 — Riley Train, MP, won by forfeit.

135 — Johnny Campbell, MP, pinned Dylan Dupont, RR, 3:03; 140 — Tanner Cannaday, MP, pinned Anthony Whipple, RR, 3:26; 145 — Dylan Rizueno, MP, pinned Michael Freitas, RR, 3:46; 152 — Bradley Rains, MP, pinned Alex Harris, RR, 3:34.

160 — Andrew Smith, RR, won by forfeit; 171 — John Dees, RR, dec. Eric Rains, MP, 3-2; 189 — DeAndre Harris, RR, won by forfeit; 215 — Cody Worthington, RR, pinned Skyler Waterman, MP, 3:44; 285 — Garrett Dees, RR, pinned Caleb Cagley, MP, 1:48.

*denotes starting weight