fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

South earns SOH honors

South Medford's 6-foot-5 junior post Tess Picknell was named the Southern Oregon Hybrid girls basketball player of the year and two other Panthers landed spots on the conference's first-team list.

Picknell averaged 13 points, nine rebounds and just shy of five blocks per game for the SOH champions, who finished 12-0 in league play. She also added about one assist and one steal per night.

Sophomore guards Kylie Towry and Yaremi Mejia were South's other first-team picks. Towry averaged 21 points, three assists, 2.6 rebounds and 2.2 steals per game, while Mejia offered 13 points, nearly seven assists, 4.5 steals and 3.6 rebounds.

Senior Katie Powell and junior Kelly Ferris earned first-team recognition for Crater. South Medford's Tom Cole was named coach of the year.

On the boys side, South Medford seniors Josh Havird and Mike Brassel and North Medford senior Jared Knox were SOH first-team selections.

Havird, a wing, averaged 14.2 points per game, and Brassel, a point guard, averaged 10.8 points. Knox was good for 12.2 points a night for North.

Roseburg senior wing Tim Weber was named the conference's player of the year. He averaged 10.9 points.

South's Dennis Murphy and Roseburg's Craig Stinnett shared coach of the year honors.

Southern Oregon Hybrid All-Stars



Tim Weber, Sr., Roseburg; Josh Havird, Sr., South Medford; Micah Audiss, Sr., Roseburg; Jared Knox, Sr., North Medford; Mike Brassel, Sr., South Medford; Brad Seehawer, Sr., Roseburg.

CO-COACHES OF THE YEAR — Craig Stinnett, Roseburg; Dennis Murphy, South Medford.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Tim Weber, Sr., Roseburg.


Logan Winter, Sr., Eagle Point; Derek Mautz, Jr., North Medford; Billy Hansen, Jr., Ashland; Tevyn Mercer, Sr., South Medford; Tyrone Holmes, Jr., Eagle Point; Tony Scriven, Jr., Grants Pass.


Chris Faust, Jr., North Medford; Justin Martin, Jr., Crater; Sean Pearson, Sr., South Medford.



Tess Picknell, Jr., South Medford; Kylie Towry, So., South Medford; Yaremi Mejia, So., South Medford; Katie Powell, Sr., Crater; Kelly Ferris, Jr., Crater; Shelby Snook, So., Roseburg.

COACH OF THE YEAR — Tom Cole, South Medford.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Tess Picknell, Jr., South Medford.


Annie Edgar, Jr., Grants Pass; Allison Shulenberger, Jr., Ashland; Alyssa Maurer, Sr., North Medford; McKensey Peters, So., North Medford; Courtney Smith, Sr., Grants Pass.


Hanna Curtius, Sr., South Medford; Luisa Tago, So., South Medford; Kasidy Cobb, Jr., Crater; Brook Blaisdell, Sr., Crater; Maryssa Becker, So., North Medford; Maricela Aguilera, Sr., Grants Pass; Hannah Johnson, Jr., Grants Pass; Beth McNichols, Jr., Crater; Mahala Howard, Sr., Roseburg; Mikayla Murphy, Jr., North Medford; Casie Johnson, So., Eagle Point.