fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Young, Pirates pick up all-Skyline accolades

Phoenix junior Alex Young was named the Skyline Conference's co-player of the year along with Mazama's Daniel Mathis.

Junior Tyler Dungannon was another first-team selection for the Class 4A state champion Pirates.

North Valley junior Jake Herklotz made the first team and Phoenix senior Alex Hobson was honored to the second team.

Phoenix finished the year 23-6. The Pirates defeated Cottage Grove 59-44 in the 4A title game on March 11 to earn the school's first state championship since 1951.

First Team

Daniel Mathis, sr., Mazama; Alex Young, jr., Phoenix; Tyler Dungannon, jr., Phoenix; Darius Jackson, sr., Mazama; Alex Stork, jr., Klamath Union; Jake Herklotz, jr., North Valley; Tony Pena, sr., Henley.

Co-players of the year — Daniel Mathis, Mazama, and Alex Young, Phoenix.

Coach of the year — Jeff Nelson, North Valley.

Second Team

Greg Hall, sr., Mazama; Alex Hobson, sr., Phoenix; Braden Monnet, sr., Hidden Valley; Kevin Brazille, so. North Valley; Chad Peterson, sr., Henley.

Honorable Mention

Jeff Suthann, sr., Hidden Valley; Braxton Miles, sr., Klamath Union; Justin Bohn, sr., Phoenix; Dave Evans, jr., Mazama; Jeremiah Rusk, jr., North Valley; Dane Anderson, sr., North Valley; Alden Goebel, sr., Klamath Union; Kevin Wynne, jr., Mazama.

Defensive Team

Alex Stork, jr., Klamath Union; Justin Bohn, sr., Phoenix; Dave Evans, jr., Mazama; Brandon Sherrill, jr., Henley; Buck Broadhead, sr., Hidden Valley.