fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Phoenix's De Luca wins regional title

MURPHY — Phoenix exceeded its expectations with a runner-up finish at the District 3 regional wrestling championships Saturday at Hidden Valley High and qualified eight of nine competitors for the Class 4A state tournament next week.

Defending state champion Henley had six division champions to win the 12-school tournament.

Eleazar De Luca, a two-time state champion, was the Pirates' only top placer.

De Luca won the 145-pound final with a 13-5 major decision against Carlos Hernandez of Henley.

"In the finals, he took the kid down four times in the first round," said Phoenix coach John Farmer. "He dominated his weight class. He's back and ready."

De Luca missed time with a concussion suffered at the Coast Classic in North Bend in December but has been in action for over a month.

The Pirates received runner-up finishes Braden Vega (138) and Steven Sharbono (285). Nick Renfro finished third at 132 but was moved up to second when Mazama's Trevor Anderson was thrown out of the tournament for unsportsmanlike conduct, losing his spot at state.

Other Pirate wrestlers advancing to state are Jacob Willis (third, 132), Kyle Bradfield (third, 145), Riley Dodd (fourth, 138) and Ismael Rubio (fourth, 160).

Hidden Valley's Seth Sotelo was the champion at 152.

"We had a great day," said Farmer. "As a team, we came to wrestle and everyone was determined to get on to the next level and get the job done."

The top four placers in each weight class advanced to the state tournament Friday and Saturday at Portland's Memorial Coliseum.


106 — 1, Tyler Scott, Henley; 2, Kaleb Winebarger, Mazama; 3, Chris Bowers, South Umpqua; 4, Skyler Midcap, North Bend.

113 — 1, Zech Bresser, Henley; 2, Cody Wright, Henley; 3, Jesse Harris, Mazama; 4, Michael McKinney, Sutherlin.

120 — 1, Ronnie Bresser, Henley; 2, Bee Nguyen, Klamath Union; 3, Augustin Munoz, Hidden Valley; 4, Levi Graber, North Bend.

126 — 1, Tee Nguyen, Klamath Union; 2, Brian Middleton, Douglas, 3, Lucas Erickson, Sutherlin; 4, Kylie Atterbury, Sutherlin.

132 — 1, Zorg Loustalet, Henley; 2, Nick Renfro, Phoenix; 3, Jacob Willis, Phoenix; 4, Jackson Conrad, North Bend.

138 — 1, Cole Hannan, Brookings-Harbor; 2, Braden Vega, Phoenix; 3, Calvin Tillery, Henley; 4, Riley Dodd, Phoenix.

145 — 1, Eleazar De Luca, Phoenix; 2, Carlos Hernandez, Henley; 3, Kyle Bradfield, Phoenix; 4, Gary Jansma, North Bend.

152 — 1, Seth Sotelo, Hidden Valley; 2, Dillon Schnee, North Valley; 3, Aaron Boatright, Mazama; 4, Jacob Klein, Klamath Union.

160 — 1, Harmon Heater, Henley; 2, Chase Anderson, Mazama; 3, Geordy Blower, North Bend; 4, Ismael Rubio, Phoenix.

170 — 1, James Simmons, Douglas; 2, Alex DeBrito, Klamath Union; 3, Emilio Peck, Henley; 4, Jesse Kuntz, Siuslaw.

182 — 1, Phillip Morgan, Henley; 2, C.J. Paxton, Brookings-Harbor; 3, Laird Mason, North Bend; 4, Spencer Sotelo, Hidden Valley.

195 — 1, Beau Grauf, Sutherlin; 2, Drake Dow, Henley; 3, Zack Olander, North Bend; 4, Brad Hyatt, Hidden Valley.

220 — 1, Sonny Tupua, Siuslaw; 2, Trevor Derra, Mazama; 3, Eli Noonan, Henley; 4, Isaac Sanders, Brookings-Harbor.

285 — Peter Tupua, Siuslaw; 2, Steven Sharbono, Phoenix; 3, Josh Cox, Mazama; 4, Mike Skidmore, Henley.

CLASS 3A DISTRICT 3 REGIONAL — At Cave Junction, Illinois Valley crowned three champions and advanced five overall to the finals but came up short against Glide in the race for a regional team title.

Eric Miller (106), Gabe Miller (132) and Julian Northrup (195) each placed first for the Cougars, while Danny Hill (120) and Logan Miller (132) were second as IV amassed 222 points. Glide used eight finalists and four champions to total 274.5 points.

Rogue River's Aaron Longtain (120), Cody Worthington (220) and Doug Francis (285) each placed first, while teammate Garrett Dees was second at 182.

TEAM SCORES — Glide 274.5, Illinois Valley 222, Rogue River 182.5, Coquille 177, Myrtle Point 124, Lakeview 115, Creswell 32.


106 — Eric Miller, IV, pinned Mack Crandall, L, 2:50; 113 — Devin Freeman, G, major dec. Eli Officer, MP, 13-1; 120 — Aaron Longtain, RR, pinned Danny Hill, IV, 1:59; 126 — Walker Damewood, G, pinned Alex Holland, G, 1:06; 132 — Gabe Miller, IV, dec. Logan Miller, IV, 8-5.

138 — Trevor Cannaday, MP, dec. Garrett Short, G, 4-1; 145 — Jay Lynse, L, dec. Jake Forrester, G, 1-0; 152 — Luke O'Connor, G, dec. Bradly Rains, MP, 5-2; 160 — Dillen Rizueno, MP, pinned Jon Britt, L, 2:44.

170 — Mikel Farley, G, dec. Sye Yates, C, 9-2; 182 — Michael Romine, C, dec. Garrett Dees, RR, 5-4; 195 — Julian Northrup, IV, dec. Tony Frank, L, 7-4; 220 — Cody Worthington, RR, pinned Aaron Cole, G, 1:59; 285 — Doug Francis, RR, pinned Dylan Amerson, L, 4:15.

SOUTHERN OREGON LEAGUE — At Ashland, several local skiers have qualified for the state skiing competition, which will take place at Mt. Hood beginning March 1.

In Southern Oregon League district action at Mt. Ashland on Saturday, Ashland's Maddie Chaves finished first in the girls slalom event with a total time of one minute, 42.42 seconds. North Medford's Rylee Houck was second (1:42.89) and Ashland's Megan Ganim third (1:44.24).

For the boys, Phoenix's Charlie Legg was first in the slalom (1:32.04), Klamath Union's Nicholas Wogan second (1:35.35) and Ashland's Alek Bishop third (1:35.69).

On the girls side, the first-place Ashland team and KU will advance to state. Individually, Houck captured first overall in the giant slalom and slalom and is bound for Mt. Hood, along with second-place finisher Kailey Flockoi of Crater.

On the boys side, the first-place Klamath Union squad and South Medford advance to state. Individually, North Medford's Reece Pressman, who secured first overall in the giant slalom, Crater's Ean Flockoi (second) and Legg will move on to Mt. Hood. In the slalom, Legg, Bishop and Ean Flockoi earned spots at state.



GIRLS — 1, Maddie Chaves, Ashland, 1:42.42; 2, Rylee Houck, North Medford, 1:42.89; 3, Megan Ganim, Ashland, 1:44.24; 4, Jessica Bocchi, Klamath Union, 1:56.97; 5, Audry Beattie, St. Mary's, 2:09.72.

BOYS — 1, Charlie Legg, Phoenix, 1:32.04; 2, Nicholas Wogan, Klamath Union, 1:35.35; 3, Alek Bishop, Ashland, 1:35.69; 4, Thomas Lund, Klamath Union, 1:41.35; 5, Ean Flockoi, Crater, 1:44.68.