fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Ultimate honor

The Midwestern League tipped its collective hat to Crater senior football player Cavin Gillispie, recognizing the running back and linebacker as the conference’s most valuable player in voting by coaches.

Eleven Comets landed first-team recognition after undefeated Crater (10-0) won the MWL. The second-seeded Comets host No. 7 Central (7-3) in a Class 5A state quarterfinal game at 7 p.m. Friday.

John Beck, who was the league’s coach of the year, offered high praise for Gillispie, who led the conference in rushing and scoring.

“What better way to honor a guy who was a first-teamer both ways and excels in every phase of the game, including special teams,” the Comets head coach said. “He’s a playmaker in all three areas: He has two kickoff returns for touchdowns, he caused fumbles, recovered fumbles, got interceptions. … And he’s an all-around great guy.”

The 5-foot-11, 205-pound Gillispie has 1,253 rushing yards on 151 attempts, 23 total touchdowns (including 19 rushing) and 147 total points. Also a leader on defense, the captain received first-team acclaim on both sides of the line.

Crater junior Austin Kramer was the squad’s other two-way first-teamer as a wide receiver and safety.

The other Comet first-teamers were senior quarterback Matt Struck, senior receiver Garret Dey, senior tackle/guard Daniel Butler, senior tackle/guard Marcus Carter, junior defensive lineman JT Gill, junior defensive lineman John Ale, senior linebacker Tommy Winningham, senior linebacker Jesse Merritt and senior kicker Jason Santoni.

Other local first-teamers were Ashland senior receiver Walker Shibley (who was also a first-team pick as a punter), Eagle Point senior tackle/guard Taylor Lawler and Eagle Point junior center Wynn Nevin.

Springfield senior quarterback Trever Watson, who has thrown and rushed for more 1,600 yards this season to lead the Millers to the 5A quarterfinals, was named the MWL offensive player of the year for the second straight time.

Springfield’s Nicolas Ah Sam was defensive player of the year.



Trever Watson, QB, Springfield; Matt Struck, QB, Crater; Cavin Gillispie, RB, Crater; Daniel Wilson, RB, Springfield; Nic Ah Sam, TE, Springfield; Austin Kramer, WR, Crater; Dustin Jones, WR, Marist; Braydon Haas, WR, Springfield; Walker Shibley, WR, Ashland; Garret Dey, WR, Crater; Gabe Mitchell, T/G, Springfield; Daniel Butler, T/G, Crater; Marcus Carter, T/G, Crater; Taylor Lawler, T/G, Eagle Point; Wynn Nevin, C, Eagle Point; Jason Santoni, K, Crater.


JT Gill, DL, Crater, John Ale, DL, Crater, Jake Schultz, DL, Marist, Todd Bourassa, DL, Springfield; Nic Ah Sam, LB, Springfield; Tommy Winningham, LB, Crater; Cavin Gillispie, LB, Crater; Jesse Merritt, LB, Crater; Austin Kramer, DB, Crater; Daniel Wilson, DB, Springfield; Trae Gould, DB, Marist; Junior Perez, DB, Churchill; Walker Shibley, P, Ashland.

Most valuable player — Cavin Gillispie, Crater.

Offensive player of the year — Trever Watson, Springfield.

Defensive player of the year — Nicolas Ah Sam, Springfield.

Coach of the year — John Beck, Crater.


Michael Pruitt, TE, Ashland; Sam Jackson, RB, Churchill; Jordan Castro, RB, Eagle Point; Kyle Weinberg, QB, Ashland; Shashi Penn, WR, Ashland; Jake Ireland, WR, Crater; Junior Perez, WR, Churchill; Will Hutson, T/G, Crater; Jordan Henderson, T/G, Springfield; Todd Bourassa, T/G, Springfield; Collin McGuire, T/G, Ashland; Baraka Mmari, C, Churchill; Kyle Weinberg, K, Ashland.


Kody Young, DL, Crater; Cedric Rios, DL, Crater; Michael Pruitt, DL, Ashland; Haley Fox, DL, Churchill; Shay Hall, DB, Crater; Walker Shibley, DB, Ashland; Pablo Ramirez, DB, Eagle Point; Shashi Penn, DB, Ashland; Chance Swenson, LB, Ashland; Cody Coker, LB, Churchill; Karter Cox, LB, Ashland; Monquell Glasow, LB, Marist; Matt Struck, P, Crater.


Tucker Atteberry, QB, Ashland; Mason Dow, RB, Ashland; Jacoby Jackson, WR, Eagle Point; James Hutchings, WR, Ashland; Spencer Cyr, WR, Crater; Nicky Weinberg, WR, Ashland; Game Sorber, WR, Springfield; Blayne Burnett, T/G, Churchill; Haley Fox, T/G, Churchill; Leonard Hunter, T/G, Eagle Point; Jason Higgison, T/G, Eagle Point; Cade Wolford, T/G, Springfield; Sean Bartlett, C, Crater; Nick Sanderson, C, Ashland; Ryan Pollard, C, Springfield; Davonte Ellis, TE, Churchill; Austin Robbins, TE, Marist; Mason Dow, RB, Ashland; Damon Squire, K, Springfield; Shashi Penn, R, Ashland.


Bryan Cortes, DL, Springfield; Mario Quintero, DL, Eagle Point; Collin McQuire, DL, Ashland; Blayne Burnett, DL, Churchill; Bryson Campbell, DL, Crater; Taylor Lawler, DL, Eagle Point; Levi Kinkade, DL, Springfield; Bryan O’Neil, LB, Eagle Point; Austin Robbins, LB, Marist; Tevin Dunlop, LB, Churchill; Josh Saenz, LB, Eagle Point; Justin Robinson, LB, Ashland; Isaac Gillard, LB, Springfield; Josiah Taylor, DB, Churchill; Nicky Weinberg, DB, Ashland; Trever Watson, DB, Springfield; Shaine Lukkes, DB, Crater; Joe Blansett, DB, Marist; Coldin Shopp, DB, Eagle Point; Tucker Atteberry, DB, Ashland; Junior Perez, P, Churchill; Drew Lara, P, Marist.

Reach reporter Dan Jones at 541-776-4499, or email djones@mailtribune.com. Find him online at twitter.com/danjonesmt

Crater senior Cavin Gillispie has run for 1,253 yards on 151 attempts and has scored 23 touchdowns, including 19 rushing. He was honored on both side of the ball in all-MWL voting. PHOTO BY LARRY STAUTH JR.