fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Owings player of year for Panthers

South Medford senior forward Kyle Owings was named the Southwest Conference player of the year and the Panthers’ Josh Desmond received coach of the year honors during recent voting.

North Medford senior Eric Benitez was awarded goalkeeper of the year recognition.

Owings finished with a school-record 29 goals for the Panthers, who won the Southwest Conference title and finished 10-2-4 overall.

South Medford senior defenders Josue Reyes and John Henry Gaffney and North Medford junior midfielder Jose Gallegos all made the first team.

On the girls side, the Black Tornado had four first-team selections: senior defender/midfielder Sarah Thomas, senior midfielder/forward Haylie Durant, junior defender/midfielder Meghan Cowan and junior defender/midfielder Michala Denn.

South Medford sophomore midfielder/forward Chloe Alvarez and senior forward Montana Logue were first-team honorees, along with Grants Pass’ Marisol Espinoza.




Josiah Darland, sr., M, Sheldon; Hide Hayashi, sr., M, Sheldon; Kyle Owings, sr., F, South Medford; Josue Reyes, sr., D, South Medford; Sawyer Corson, sr., D, South Eugene; Hunter Hayes, sr., M, Thurston; George Dickerson, sr., M, South Eugene; Jose Gallegos, jr., M, North Medford; Jonathon Sifuentes, sr., M, Willamette; John Henry Gaffney, sr., D, South Medford; Eric Benitez, sr., GK, North Medford.

Player of the year — Kyle Owings, South Medford.

Goalkeeper of the year — Eric Benitez, North Medford.

Coach of the year — Josh Desmond, South Medford.


Noah Burke, jr., D, Willamette; Eric Peregrina, sr., M/F, South Medford; Jonathon Williams, sr., M, Grants Pass; Miguel Ortiz-Rodriguez, sr., D, North Medford; Tanner Hunt, jr., M, Roseburg; Diego Rodriguez, sr., M/F, South Medford; Pascal Konyn, sr., F, Sheldon; Collin ChubbFertal, jr., FW, South Eugene; Isaiah Camacho, sr., D, Grants Pass; Juan Salgado, sr., M, South Eugene; Luke Haman, so., GK, Roseburg.


Jon Peregrina, jr., F, South Medford; Anthony Back, sr., D, South Medford; Kole Ford, so., D, North Medford; Rene Torres-Mata, sr., D, North Medford; Cameron Marzi, sr., M, Grants Pass; Jake Lightcap, sr., D, Roseburg; Jack Christner, jr., D, Roseburg; Gerald Arroyo, jr., M, Willamette; Griffen Jeskey, so., F, Willamette; Ryan Langley, sr., M, Thurston; Dan Renteria, sr., F, Thurston; Cade O’Connor, sr., D, Sheldon; Cade Binkerd, fr., M, Sheldon; Bennett DeLong, sr., M, Sheldon; Brendan Murray, sr., M, South Eugene; Franscesco Dadone, sr., GK, Sheldon; Joshua Ganter, jr., GK, South Eugene.



Emma Eddy, sr., Sheldon; Meghan Cowan, jr., North Medford; Mary Jane Erving, jr., Sheldon; Jenny Aguirre, jr., Willamette; Sarah Thomas, sr., North Medford; Montana Logue, sr., South Medford; Haylie Durant, sr., North Medford; Michala Denn, jr., North Medford; Chloe Alvarez, so., South Medford; Marisol Espinoza, sr., Grants Pass; Kalea Nyby, jr., Sheldon; Megan McCourt, sr., Sheldon.

Player of the year — Emma Eddy, Sheldon.

Coach of the year — Adam Barton, Sheldon.


Mahala Norris, sr., Roseburg; Maddy Surrett, so., Sheldon; Haley Janky, sr., North Medford; Ashley Guldager, so., Willamette; Amanda Solar, sr., Grants Pass; Sydney Holborow, jr., Roseburg; Andie DeVries, sr., South Medford; Taylor Carmen, sr., Sheldon; Megan Elling, sr., South Eugene; Tiffany Hilkey, so., Thurston; Maggie McCausland, sr., Willamette; Gretchen Berkey, sr., Grants Pass.


Jaida Nyby, fr., Sheldon; Katlyn Martinez, so., Willamette; Kara Krnacik, sr., Roseburg; Emily Wiltshire, fr., Sheldon; Sarah Rosander, so., Thurston; Megan Therian, jr., Grants Pass; Brynne Anderson, jr., Grants Pass; Ilsa Frazer, so., South Eugene; Hannah Farley, sr., South Eugene; Madi Morgan, so., North Medford; Kendall Minium, sr., Thurston; Renae Nisbet, sr., South Medford; Liz Beattie, jr., South Medford; McKenzie Kapp, sr., South Medford.