fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Slagle named MVL coach of year

Rogue Valley Adventist’s Marlene Slagle was named girls basketball coach of the year in the Mountain Valley League after recent voting by coaches.

Slagle led the Red Tail Hawks to a season of firsts, including regular-season and MVL tournament titles and an appearance in the Class 1A state tournament, where they captured third.

Rogue Valley Adventist’s Ashton Petray earned first-team recognition and landed a spot on the MVL district all-tournament squad, along with teammate Rose Tovar.

On the boys side, RVA’s Trevor Haugen was a first-team honoree.

Mountain Valley League All-League


First Team

Alex Holland, Triad; Silas Sanchez, Hosanna Christian; Marquez Parazoo, Chiloquin; Kyler Hoops Miller, Chiloquin; Waylon Cole, Hosanna Christian; Hunter Nelson, Gilchrist; Trevor Haugen, Rogue Valley Adventist.

Co-MVPs: Alex Holland, Triad; Silas Sanchez, Hosanna Christian.

Coach of the year: Brad Staub, Hosanna Christian.

Second Team

Nathan Gilbert, North Lake; Michael Barrett, Triad; Dillon Claybaugh, Triad; Nathaniel James, Rogue Valley Adventist; Nicco Bustamante, Hosanna Christian; Will Gibon, Chiloquin.

Third Team

Wil Bateman, Butte Falls; Gabe Bernabe, Gilchrist; Jarred Gaines, Prospect; Shane Parazoo, Chiloquin; Jubal Pierson, North Lake; Sean Derr, Prospect; Dylon Hamilton, Hosanna Christian; Cody Cooper, Paisley.

MVL All-District Tournament

Alex Holland, Hosanna Christian (MVP); Hunter Nelson, Gilchrist; Kyler Hoops Miller, Chiloquin; Marquez Parazoo, Chiloquin; Waylon Cole, Hosanna Christian; Nicco Bustamante, Hosanna Christian.


First Team

Kendra Murphy, North Lake; Ashton Petray, Rogue Valley Adventist; Bre Maldonado, Chiloquin; Raelynn Murray, Hosanna Christian; Emily Eidler, Trinity Lutheran; Mattee Vickerman, Paisley; Mady Bush, Hosanna Christian.

MVP: Kendra Murphy, North Lake.

Coach of the year: Marlene Slagle, Rogue Valley Adventist.

Second Team

Madison McCuiston, Triad; Hannah Wood, Rogue Valley Adventist; Mariah Murphy, Trinity Lutheran; Cassandra Blum, Gilchrist; Raylee Hand, North Lake.

Honorable Mention

Presley Frost, Chiloquin; Kirsten Tuttle, Hosanna Christian; Katie Munsell, Butte Falls; Krysta Colahan, Paisley; Cheyanne Tinsel, Central Christian.

MVL All-District Tournament

Raelynn Murray, Hosanna Christian (MVP); Kendra Murphy, North Lake; Bre Maldonado, Chiloquin; Ukia Vasquez, Chiloquin; Ashton Petray, Rogue Valley Adventist; Rose Tovar, Rogue Valley Adventist; Mady Bush, Hosanna Christian.