fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Players chosen for MT All-Star games

Teams for the ninth annual Mail Tribune All-Star Basketball Classic have been selected, and if this year's games are anything like last year's, fans can expect a scintillating evening of play.The 2016 version, bringing together top Class 6A to 1A players from 16 high schools in the region, is March 18 at Kids Unlimited. The girls game is at 6 p.m., the boys game at 7:30 p.m.Fans vote on the starters. The ballot is at mailtribune.com/allstars, and there is no limit to the number of votes that can be cast.Proceeds go to Kids Unlimited, a Medford youth development agency located at 821 N. Riverside Ave. Admission is $8 for adults, $4 for students and kids under 12 get in free.The games have generated more than $40,000 for Kids Unlimited.They will be webcast live on www.tablerocksports.net.Last year, the girls contest came down to a last-second basket by South Medford's Julissa Tago, giving the Siskiyous a 66-64 victory over the Rogues.In the boys game, the Siskiyous, led by South Medford's Hunter Bradford, rallied from an eight-point deficit, then withstood a last-gasp 3-point attempt by Ashland's Collin Malcolm for a 94-91 victory over the Rogues.Tago, the girls most valuable player the past two years, returns this year as a senior, as does Bradford, the reigning boys MVP.Oregon Tech coaching legend Danny Miles will direct one of the boys teams opposite Southern Oregon's Brian McDermott. Assistant coaches from the two colleges' women's programs will handle the girls teams.Miles, a Medford native, recently completed his 45th and final season with the Owls. He's one of four men's four-year college coaches to have won at least 1,000 games. He ended his career with a record of 1,040-437.Four other girls join Tago in returning from last year, including Eagle Point’s Adrienne Wood, who scored 12 points in a winning cause. The others are North Medford’s Maggie Freeman, Grants Pass’ Jacque Luaders and Crater’s Mallory Heard.Back in the boys game, along with Bradford, are North Medford’s Brian Schireman and Ashland’s Walker Shibley, who scored 14 and 15 points, respectively, in the Rogues’ loss, and a trio who played for the Siskiyous: Phoenix’s Thomas Skaff and Rogue River’s Chris Campbell, who each reached double figures, and Butte Falls’ Wil Bateman.Here are this year’s teams:

ROGUE BOYS: Hunter Bradford, South Medford; Conor Carroll, South Medford; Kaison Faust, North Medford; Walker Shibley, Ashland; Mario Quintero, Eagle Point; Mase Masalosalo, Phoenix; Dylan May, Hidden Valley; Carson Cochran, Cascade Christian; Caleb Hess, Illinois Valley; Wil Bateman, Butte Falls.

SISKIYOU BOYS: Brian Schireman, North Medford; Josh Washington, South Medford; Brandon Hoy, Grants Pass; Malik Pippa, Ashland; Kiefer Edwards, Crater; Thomas Skaff, Phoenix; Michael Martz, North Valley; Tyler West, St. Mary’s; Chris Campbell, Rogue River; Trevor Haugen, Rogue Valley Adventist.

ROGUE GIRLS: Lauren Orndoff, South Medford; Maggie Freeman, North Medford; Jacque Luaders, Grants Pass; Adrienne Wood, Eagle Point; Evie Kent, Crater; Kasydie Winner, Ashland; Aaliyah Hall, North Valley; Meg Vasey, St. Mary’s; Larissa Hamilton, Rogue River; Ashton Petray, Rogue Valley Adventist.

SISKIYOU GIRLS: Julissa Tago, South Medford; Ula Chamberlin, South Medford; Rylee Karrick, North Medford; Jordan Kujawski, Grants Pass; Mallory Heard, Crater; Alexis De La Torre, Phoenix; Allison Primeau, Illinois Valley; Tiani Alvarez, Cascade Christian; Baley VanWormer, Prospect; Katie Munsell, Butte Falls.