fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Rogue River’s Decker wins District 5 award

A strong third-place finish by Rogue River in District 5 boys soccer garnered Rogue River senior Gavin Decker the league’s top individual award, and co-head coaches Bruce Sund and Max Malcomb were coaches of the year.

Rogue River (11-3-0 Dist. 5) finished third in the District 5 standings, one point behind second place Cascade Christian (11-2-1).

Decker, a 5-foot-9, 155-pound dynamo for the Chieftains, scored 36 goals this season and was honored with the Golden Ball Award.

League champion St. Mary’s (13-1) placed five players on the first team, including the Golden Net Award to senior Ryan Trask as the top goalie. Other Crusaders on the first team were Weston Grant, Justin Silsbee, Lucas Fry and Preston Jernigan.

Cascade Christian’s first-teamers were Jesse Fretz, Zach Booker, Mason Reed and Ethan Hoffman.

Rogue River also placed Wyatt Borman on the first team.

In girls play, undefeated District 5 champion St. Mary’s (8-0 Dist. 5) saw Meghan Michels, Ibixica Alvarez, Sara Klott, Gabi Castillo and Maddie Wheelock receive first-team recognition.

Sophomore goalie Audrey Quast of runner-up Cascade Christian (6-2) was selected as Golden Net Award winner. She had five shutouts and five games of only one goal allowed to lead the Challengers. She had 55 saves on the season.

Other Challengers on the first team were Emily Stephens, Joelle Sills and Amanda Armas.

Rogue River’s Jesse Langfield was picked to the first team.

Special District 5 All-League


First Team

Gavin Decker, Sr., forward, Rogue River; Jesse Fretz, Sr., forward, Cascade Christian; Ryan Trask, Sr., goalie, St. Mary’s; Weston Grant, Jr. forward, St. Mary’s; Justin Silsbee, Jr., midfielder, St. Mary’s; Calob Reimer, Sr., goalie, Canyonville Christian Academy; Zach Booker, Jr., defender, Cascade Christian; Lucas Fry, Sr., midfielder, St. Mary’s; Mason Reed, Jr., forward, Cascade Christian; Ethan Hoffman, So., midfielder, Cascade Christian; Josh Engdahl, Jr., forward, Pacific/Bandon; Wyatt Borman, Sr., defender, Rogue River; Kaden Ashdown, Sr., midfielder, Pacific/Bandon; Preston Jernigan, So., forward, St. Mary’s; Eduardo Ruiz, Sr., midfielder, Lakeview.

Honorable Mention

Aaron Hanson, Sr., goalie, Rogue River; Joshua Merrill, So., goalie, Illinois Valley; Yannick Sesonga, Sr., defender, Canyonville Christian Academy; Juan Moreno, Jr. forward, Lakeveiw; Andre Michels, So., defender, St. Mary’s; Justin Hall, Jr., midfielder, Pacific/Bandon; Hezekiah Schalk, Fr., forward, Illinois Valley; Thiago Veloso Lopez, Sr., midfielder, Rogue River; Ryan Vidlak, Jr., midfielder, Cascade Christian.

Golden Ball Award: Gavin Decker, Rogue River.

Golden Net Award: Ryan Trask, St. Mary’s.

Coach of the Year: Bruce Sund and Max Malcomb (co-head coaches), Rogue River.


First Team

Brette Graham, So., forward, Lakeview; Emily Stephens, So., midfielder, Cascade Christian; Audrey Quast, So., goalie, Cascade Christian; Meghan Michels, So., forward, St. Mary’s; Alex Conley, Jr., goalie, Lakeview; Ibixica Alvarez, So., midfielder, St. Mary’s; Sara Klott, Jr., midfielder, St. Mary’s; Gabi Castillo, So., forward, St. Mary’s; Maddie Wheelock, So., defender, St. Mary’s; Sami Nicholl, So., midfielder, Lakeview; Joelle Sills, Sr, defender, Cascade Christian; Jesse Langfield, So., forward, Rogue River; Amanda Arman, Sr., defender, Cascade Christian; Aundrea Miller, Sr., midfielder, Illinois Valley; Lilly Cusomano, Sr., defender, Illinois Valley.

Golden Ball Award: Brette Graham, Lakeview.

Golden Net Award: Audrey Quast, Cascade Christian.

Coach of the Year: Jim Nicholl, Lakeview.

Honorable Mention

Haley Reed, Sr., midfielder, Cascade Christian; Talyn Fricke, So., Rogue River; Aarika Brooks, So., midfielder, Illinois Valley; Dani Dunn, Jr., defender, Lakeview; Grace Weber, So., midfielder, St. Mary’s.