fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Eagles rally past Black Tornado

Where North Medford’s wrestlers struggled to find their fire, Eagle Point didn’t have that issue Tuesday night as the Eagles rallied for a 34-32 triumph in nonconference wrestling at North Medford High.

Eagle Point shook off a 32-22 deficit with pins in the final two matches to score a comeback that was built on some earlier key matches that resulted in bonus points for the Class 5A Eagles.

“There’s always a learning curve and it was good for Eagle Point to come in and provide that,” said North Medford head coach Phillip Lopez. “The difference in the night was the fight and momentum, we didn’t seize it and they did and they just never stopped wrestling.”

Eagle Point spotted the Black Tornado with 12 points due to a pair of forfeits but Taylor Lawler’s 3-2 decision over Julian Stone at 220 pounds help set the stage for a comeback. After that, Jacob Hukill was able to gain enough momentum to roll Michael Rucker in the heavyweight out and score a pin with only a few tenths of a second left in the first round.

In the final match, Freddy Barajas clinched the comeback for Eagle Point with a first-round fall of Levi Spears.

Earlier wins by Eagle Point’s Thomas Zomerdyk, who scored a major decision over Chase Mitchell at 113, and Bradey Thrash, who used a late cradle to even things up with Cole Zoller and then won 11-9 in overtime, were pivotal for the visitors.

“They wrestled tough tonight,” Lopez said of the Eagles. “It’s a good lesson for our guys. We just need to do things better. They put us down and found ways to win and we just didn’t.”

TEAM SCORE: Eagle Point 34, North Medford 32.

106 — Freddy Barajas, EP, pinned Levi Spears, 1:00; *113 — Thomas Zomerdyk, EP, major dec. Chase Mitchell, 10-2; 120 — Bradey Thrash, EP, dec. Cole Zoller, 11-9 OT; 126 — Chance McMullen, EP, pinned Ethan Miller, 1:33; 132 — Ricardo Aguilar, EP, dec. Benjamin Zeigler, 7-2.

138 — Dominic Deitrick, NM, pinned Josh Sitzer, 1:45; 145 — Matthew Bryant, NM, dec. Jaime DeLaCruz, 4-0; 152 — Noah Sitzer, EP, dec. Robert Biddle, 5-0; 160 — Andres Ramirez, NM, tech. fall Joray Redhorse, 20-3.

170 — Matthew Smith, NM, won by forfeit; 182 — Justin Geyer, NM, pinned Lane Lambert, :50; 195 — Nick Hardage, NM, won by forfeit; 220 — Taylor Lawler, EP, dec. Julian Stone, 3-2; 285 — Jacob Hukill, EP, pinned Michael Rucker, 1:59.

* starting weight