fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Players chosen for MT All-Star games

The 10th annual Mail Tribune All-Star Basketball Classic features one significant change from the norm, but it won’t be in the talent level of the teams or in the expectation of entertaining basketball.

Teams have been chosen for the boys and girls contests Friday, March 17, that showcase the best players in southern Oregon, from Class 6A to 1A.

A different venue from years past will house the games. They will be at Central High in Medford, formerly South Medford High, at 815 S. Oakdale Avenue. Construction at Kids Unlimited, where the event is usually held, prompted the change.

The girls game starts at 6 p.m., the boys at 7:30 p.m. Tickets are $8 for adults, $4 for students, and kids under 12-and-under get in free.

Fans vote on the starters. The ballot can be found at MailTribune.com/sports, and there is no limit to the number of votes that can be cast.

Live video of the games will be streamed on www.tablerocksports.net.

Last year, South Medford’s Julissa Tago stole the show in the girls game, scoring a record 42 points and becoming the first to be named most valuable player three times.

However, her exploits for the Siskiyous were not enough to overcome the balance of the Rogues, who got 15 points from North Medford’s Maggie Freeman, 14 from Eagle Point’s Adrienne Wood and 10 from Ashland’s Kasydie Winner in a 76-71 victory.

In the boys game, the leading production of North Medford’s Brian Schireman did contribute to a win.

The game’s most valuable player tallied 27 points as the Siskiyous topped the Rogues, 75-66. The winners also got 10 points from South Medford’s Josh Washington.

In defeat, South Medford’s Conor Carroll (17) and Hunter Bradford (15) led the way for the Rogues.

The staffs of Southern Oregon University and Oregon Institute of Technology will coach the teams.

Returning players in the girls game are South Medford’s Lauren Orndoff and Ula Chamberlin, North Medford’s Rylee Karrick, Grants Pass’ Jordan Kujawski and Prospect’s Baley Vanwormer.

In the boys game, Eagle Point’s Mario Quintero, Ashland’s Malik Pippa and Crater’s Kiefer Edwards are back.

Here are this year's teams:

ROGUE BOYS: Brad Allen, North Medford; Kaleb Franklin, South Medford; Peyton Fuller, Ashland; Kiefer Edwards, Crater; James Turnbull, Phoenix; Kasey Copeland, Hidden Valley; Joel McLemore, Cascade Christian; Aaron Hansen, Rogue River; Skylar McLanahan, Illinois Valley; Jarred Gaines, Prospect.

SISKIYOU BOYS: Kaison Faust, North Medford; Riley Martin, South Medford; Tayler Phillips, Grants Pass; Malik Pippa, Ashland; Mason Vranes, Crater; Mario Quintero, Eagle Point; Owen Hornbeck, North Valley; Ben Dunn, Cascade Christian; Bryce Bramscher, St. Mary's; Kadin Ault, Butte Falls.

ROGUE GIRLS: Rylee Karrick, North Medford; Ula Chamberlin, South Medford; Hannah Washington, South Medford; Evie Kent, Crater; Carlene Hart, Eagle Point; Kaylee Krusemark, Hidden Valley; Amanda Stewart, North Valley; Emily Stephens, Cascade Christian; Jesse Langfield, Rogue River; Baley Vanwormer, Prospect.

SISKIYOU GIRLS: Megan Fossen, North Medford; Lauren Orndoff, South Medford; Jonnay Foote, South Medford; Jordan Kujawski, Grants Pass; Mya Elder-Hammond, Ashland; Sydney Gray, Crater; Kaylene Ritter, Phoenix; Emma Bennion, St. Mary's; Aundrea Miller, Illinois Valley; Katie Munsell, Butte Falls.

Reach sports editor Tim Trower at 541-776-4479, or email ttrower@mailtribune.com




Create your own user feedback survey

South Medford's Julissa Tago (shooting) scored 42 points and was MVP of the 2016 girls game. [LARRY STAUTH JR./FOR THE MAIL TRIBUNE]
Players chosen for MT All-Star games