fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Local players earn Midwestern honors

Crater placed two players and Ashland one on the Midwestern League volleyball all-star first team in voting by the coaches.

Crater’s Nehkyah Ellis, a junior outside hitter, and junior libero Rane Jensen made the first unit. Ashland was represented by senior middle blocker/outside hitter Alex Crane.

Crater juniors Maya Van Hook and Syd Gray were chosen to the second team, as was Ashland junior Sydney Philpott.

Marist’s Claire Hoffman and North Eugene’s Descinda Slaughter, both seniors, were co-players of the year, while North Eugene’s Dave Merrill was selected for the coaching honor.

All-MWL Volleyball

PLAYERS OF THE YEAR: Claire Hoffman, sr., Marist; Descinda Slaughter, sr., North Eugene.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Dave Merrill, North Eugene.

First Team

Claire Hoffman, OH, sr., Marist; Descinda Slaughter, OH, sr., North Eugene; Taylor Williams, OH, jr., Churchill; Alex Crane, MB/OH, sr., Ashland; Kaitlen Haas, OH, jr., Thurston; Nehkyah Ellis, OH, jr., Crater; Hannah Randall, S, so., North Eugene; Rane Jensen, L, jr., Crater.

Second Team

Christiana Fountain, sr., Marist; Morgan Gray, jr., Thurston; Alexis Hobie, fr., North Eugene; Taylor Londo, so., North Eugene; Maya Van Hook, jr., Crater; Syd Gray, jr., Crater; Alexi Sparks, jr., Thurston; Sydney Philpott, jr., Ashland.

Honorable Mention

Britney Duvall, sr., Marist; Emily DeVall, jr., Ashland; Alyssa Ogan, sr., Thurston’ Peyton Espinosa, jr., Churchill; Ryleigh Gainey, sr., Eagle Point; Che’ Kuhse, sr., Springfield; McKenna Miller, jr., Thurston; McKenna Williams, jr., Marist; Emily Collie, fr., North Eugene; Heather Colmer, jr., Crater.