fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Crater boys head MWL honors

After capturing the Midwestern League title, winning its conference for the first time in 28 years and completing a 23-1 regular season, the Crater boys basketball team was duly recognized in all-league voting.

Senior forward Kiefer Edwards was selected player of the year, and the Comets’ Chris Schmerbach was honored as coach of the year.

Edwards averages 21 points, 11.5 rebounds, three assists, two steals and one block per game.

Also making the first team for Crater was 6-foot-9 freshman Nate Bittle. Teammate Mason Vranes, a senior guard, made the second team. His sophomore brother, Jayden Vranes, grabbed third-team honors.

Ashland’s KJ Pippa secured a spot on the third team.

On the girls side, Crater juniors Sydney Gray and Maya Van Hook made the second team, and senior Lexi Woodard made the third team.

All-MWL Basketball


PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Kiefer Edwards, Crater.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Chris Schmerbach, Crater.

First Team

Kiefer Edwards, sr., Crater; Zach Brown, jr., Springfield; Isaac Lange, jr., Thurston; Isaiah Wallace, so., Churchill; Nate Bittle, fr., Crater; Mason Miller, jr., Thurston.

Second Team

Mason Vranes, sr., Crater; Bryson Bresee, sr., Springfield; Sterling Minor, sr., Thurston; Silas Bennion, so., Churchill; Cameron Parks, so., North Eugene.

Third Team

Jayden Vranes, so., Crater; Isaac Zachem, sr., Marist; KJ Pippa, jr., Ashland; Jesse Connor, sr., Thurston; Jordan Carrillo, jr., Springfield.

Honorable Mention

Jadan Reynolds, sr., Springfield; Jonathon Nchekwube, jr., Churchill; Spencer Franssen, sr., Marist; Ivan Enciso, sr., North Eugene; Zakk Scott, sr., Eagle Point.


PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Emma McKenney, Marist.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Terry Harrison, Marist.

First Team

Cielo Gonzalez, sr., Springfield; Rebecca Durbin, jr., Springfield; Isis Smith, jr., Churchill; Claire Eagen, sr., Marist; Lauren Eagen, sr., Marist.

Second Team

Sydney Gray, jr., Crater; Maya Van Hook, jr., Crater; Kayla Nesbitt, sr., Churchill; Maddy Carrier, sr., North Eugene; Megan Miller, fr., Thurston; Madison Ficek, jr., Marist.

Third Team

Lexi Woodard, sr., Crater; Brooklyn Gilbert, sr., Thurston; Reice Newell, fr., Springfield; Aliyah Dade, sr., Springfield; Kayley Elliott, jr., Marist.

Honorable Mention

McKenna Williams, jr., Marist; Claire Baboyan, sr., North Eugene; Mackenzie Ryerson, sr., Crater; Neykyah Ellis, jr., Crater; Carlene Hart, sr., Eagle Point; Mya Elder-Hammond, sr., Ashland; Sydney Johnson, jr., Marist; Natalie Elstone, so., Churchill; Sophie Elstone, so., Churchill.