fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Five Eagles earn MWL all-star nods

Eagle Point had five first-team selections and a second-team nod to lead the local contingent in Midwestern League softball all-star voting, voted on by the league’s coaches.

Crater had two first-team picks and two second-teamers, and league champion Marist swept the major awards, with sophomore catcher Abby Doerr voted Player of the Year honors, junior Ariel Carlson Pitcher of the year and Missy Doerr Coach of the Year.

Eagle Point, which finished second in the conference before losing in the first round of the playoffs, were represented on the MWL first team by sophomore pitcher Riley Shopp, senior catcher Samantha Thompson, senior infielder Gillian Willis, senior outfielder Corie Dodge and senior utility player Miyah Smith, while junior outfielder Emma Stephens was a second-team selection.

Earning first-team honors for Crater, which placed fourth in the MWL and fell in the state quarterfinals, were junior infielder Jordan Peterson and senior outfielder Grace Hilton, while sophomore Presley Robison and senior Mackenzie Ryerson earned second-team nods.


PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Abby Doerr, so., Marist.

PITCHER OF THE YEAR — Ariel Carlson, jr., Marist.

COACH OF THE YEAR — Missy Doerr, Marist.


PITCHER — Ariel Carlson, jr., Marist; Riley Shopp, so., Eagle Point

CATCHER — Abby Doerr, so., Marist; Samantha Thompson, sr., Eagle Point.

INFIELD — Abbey Siroshton, sr., Marist; Baily Sunderberg, sr., Churchill; Gillian Willis, sr., Eagle Point; McKenna Williams, jr., Marist; Jordan Peterson, jr., Crater; Allyson Keefauver, jr., Thurston.

OUTFIELD — Grace Hilton, sr., Crater; Corie Dodge, sr., Eagle Point; Katie Dreiling, jr., Marist; Savannah Decker, so., Thurston.

UTILITY/DP — Miyah Smith, sr., Eagle Point; Olivia Jetgvig, so., Thurston.


PITCHER — Harmony Stevens, jr., Thurston; Sarah Sheppler, sr., Churchill.

CATCHER — Olivia Schmidt, jr., Thurston; Brianna Lake, fr., North Eugene.

INFIELD — Brooklyn Jensen, jr., Marist; Maggie Stephenson, jr., Marist; Hope Burke, fr., Thurston; Ashley Oppelt, jr., Eagle Point; Presley Robison, so., Crater.

OUTFIELD — Brielle Wolf, so., Marist; Mackenzie Ryerson, sr., Crater; Emily Lawler, jr., Churchill; McKenzie Westphal, fr., Churchill; Emma Stephens, jr., Eagle Point.


PITCHER — Skylar Stout, so., Thurston; Brooklyn Rogers, so., North Eugene.

INFIELD — Kaila Lee, jr., Crater; Hannah Joseph, so., Crater; Makaiya Murphy, so., North Eugene; Sirenia Rodriguez, sr., Springfield.

OUTFIELD — Kylie Donahue, fr., North Eugene.


UMPIRE HONORED: Longtime local official Scott Rice has been named the Umpire of the Year for the 2017-18 school year by the Oregon Athletic Officials Association.

Rice, who’s umpired high school and college games for the last 32 years, the last 17 in Oregon, was notified of the award Friday.

He will be presented a plaque at an upcoming state championship baseball game.

Eagle Point High School logo, courtesy of the school's Facebook page.