fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

South Medford's Pineda player of year

South Medford senior midfielder Madelyn Pineda was selected player of the year in a vote of the Southwest Conference girls soccer coaches.

The Panthers also had the coach of the year in Kendra McMillen and two first-team choices.

On the boys side, South Medford’s Claudio Villa was coach of the year.

Pineda led the Panthers in assists and excelled on corner kicks, said McMillen.

“She starts all of our offensive attack with her composure and play on the ball,” said the coach. “As a player and a person, she is very intelligent. She has a huge work ethic. I just feel this honor is huge and very well deserved and well earned.”

South Medford senior Whitney Winans made the first team as a midfielder, and sophomore Toni Coleman was selected at forward.

The Panthers went 8-2 to win the SWC and 9-6 overall. They lost in the first round of the state playoffs, 1-0 at Tualatin.

North Medford junior defender Jaida Ross was a first-team selection, as was Grants Pass senior midfielder Elizabeth Williams.

In boys voting, South Medford senior Calvin Whitley, a defender, and junior Kam Calhoun, a midfielder, made the first team.

North Medford senior forward Caleb Forte was on the first team, along with Grants Pass junior midfielder Cade Anderson.

South Medford was second in the league at 6-2-2 and North Medford was third with a 5-4-1 record.


Player of the year: Sai Bliss-King, South Eugene.

Goalkeeper of the year: Gustav Verdouw, South Eugene.

Coach of the year: Claudio Villa, South Medford.

First Team

Forward: Caleb Forte, sr., North Medford; Jake Hoffman, sr., South Eugene; Parker Dixon, jr., South Eugene; Patrick Giraudo, sr., Roseburg.

Midfielder: Grady Thurman, so., South Eugene; Kam Calhoun, jr., South Medford; Cade Anderson, jr., Grants Pass.

Defender: Elijah Reed, sr., South Eugene; Calvin Whitley, sr., South Medford; Sean Keating, sr., South Eugene; Jacob Vergara Perez, sr., Sheldon.

Second Team

Forward: Jonathan Colunga, so., Roseburg; Jayden Bangs, jr., Roseburg; Ruben Rodriguez, jr., South Medford.

Midfielder: Fernando Bitelli, sr., Roseburg; Seth Parks, sr., South Medford; Jordan Higuera, jr., North Medford; Wesley Frye, sr., Grants Pass.

Defender: Heriberto, sr., North Medford; Loic Fauquembergue, sr., South Eugene; Braden Byrd, jr., North Medford; Ryan Keating, sr., South Eguene; Kennon Pulsipher, sr., South Medford.

Goalkeeper: Jude Pannell, so., South Medford.

Honorable Mention

Midfielder: JT Dauterman, sr., Roseburg; Jackson Tucker, sr., Sheldon.

Defender: Ulysses Gomez, fr., North Medford.

Goalkeeper: Tobias D’Amato, sr., Grants Pass.


Player of the year: Madelyn Pineda, South Medford.

Goalkeeper of the year: Emily Wheeler, Roseburg.

Coach of the year: Kendra McMillen, South Medford.

First Team

Forward: Toni Coleman, so., South Medford; Emily Wiltshire, sr., Sheldon; Sahve Beller, so., South Eugene; Devyn Simmons, so., South Eugene.

Midfieder: Whitney Winans, sr., South Medford; Piper Matson, jr., Sheldon; Jennifer Shelton, sr., Sheldon; Evelyn Trammell, so., South Eugene; Elizabeth Williams, sr., Grants Pass; Callie Price, sr., Roseburg.

Defender: Jaida Ross, jr., North Medford.

Second Team

Forward: Ula Chamberlin, sr., South Medford.

Midfielder: Talia Hutchins, jr., South Medford; Caroline Foskett, fr., South Eugene; Isabelle Cruz, fr., Grants Pass; Jazzlyn Ross, jr., North Medford; Taylor Denn, so., North Medford.

Defender: Baylee Smith, sr., South Medford; Maia Minson, sr. Sheldon; Riley Michael, jr., South Medford; Sophia Schmidt, so., Sheldon; Ellie Lindsey, jr., Grants Pass.

Goalkeeper: Brinley O’Neill, sr., North Medford.

Honorable Mention

Defender: Ainsley Abraham, sr., Sheldon; Campbell Page, so., Grants Pass; Katie Knudson, jr., Roseburg.

Midfielder: Taylor Mooney, sr., Grants Pass.

15757460 - football in the goal net