fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Challengers, Crusaders head Dist. 5 all-stars

Cascade Christian junior Jonny McCoy and senior Bryton Plankenhorn were named the boys and girls soccer players of the year, respectively, in all-league voting by the District 5 coaches.

St. Mary’s, the boys and girls league champions, and the runner-up Challengers dominated the selections, including boy goalkeeper of the year for Cascade Christian senior Caleb Knight and girl goalie of the year for St. Mary’s junior Olivia Lippert.

McCoy racked up 16 goals and five assists and played a part-time role for the defense.

Knight posted four clean sheets and allowed one goal in three matches. He denied two penalty kicks.

St. Mary’s placed five players on the first team: junior Will Kranenburg (forward), senior Milan Bobek (midfielder), senior Charles Reade (defender), junior Nathan Sternenberg (midfielder) and senior Noah Stillwell (defender).

For Cascade Christian, those on the first unit were junior Justin Fairbanks (midfielder), junior Donminic Lewis (forward) and sophomore Cody Reece (midfielder).

Other local first-team players were Rogue Valley Adventist junior midfielder Ian Cheshire and Rogue River senior forward Garren Decker.

On the girls side, Plankenhorn was honored after setting the career record for goals at Cascade Christian. She had 22 goals and two assists during the regular season.

Lippert posted eight shutouts and two one-goal games.

First-team players for St. Mary’s were senior Meg Wright (defender); juniors Mia Castillo (defender), Sophia Dobry (midfielder) and Estella Olson (midfielder); and sophomore Ryker Rothfus (forward).

Cascade Christian first-teamers were seniors Lauren Anderchuk (midfielder) and Braelyn Day (defender) and sophomore Katie Erno (midfielder).

Rogue River placed two on the first team in sophomore midfielder Makyala Drake and junior forward Alyssa Sizemore.

Rogue River’s Robert Hileman was chosen girls coach of the year.

All-DISTRICT 5 Soccer


PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Jonny McCoy, Jr., Cascade Christian.

GOALIE OF THE YEAR: Caleb Knight, Sr., Cascade Christian.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Jeremy Gerlach, Canyonville Academy.

First Team

Dagem Ayelew, F, Canyonville Academy, Sr; Milan Bobek, M, St. Mary’s, Sr; Ian Cheshire, M, Rogue Valley Adventist, Jr; Garren Decker, F, Rogue River, Sr; Justin Fairbanks, D/M, Cascade Christian, Jr; Mehkye Froelich, M, Paisley, Fr; Elijah Jones, M, Paisley, So; Caleb Knight, GK, Cascade Christian, Sr; Will Kranenburg, F, St. Mary’s, Jr; Donminic Lewis, F, Cascade Christian, Jr; Jonny McCoy, F/D, Cascade Christian, Jr; Amaury Ndagijimana, M, Canyonville Academy, Sr; Charles Reade, D, St. Mary’s, Sr; Cody Reece, M, Cascade Christian, So; Hezekiah Schalk, F, Illinois Valley, F, Sr; Nathan Sternenberg, M, St. Mary’s, Jr; Noah Stillwell, D, St. Mary’s, Sr; Angelo Twagirukiza, M, Canyonville Academy, Sr.

Honorable Mention

Bradley Friend, M/D, Rogue River, Fr; Cody Havniear, D, Cascade Christian, Sr; Aiden Jones, M, Paisley, Sr.; Leon Ku, D, Canyonville Academy, Sr; Noah McAllister, GK, Paisley, Fr.


PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Bryton Plankenhorn, Sr., Cascade Christian.

GOALIE OF THE YEAR: Olivia Lippert, Jr., St. Mary’s.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Robert Hileman, Rogue River.

First Team

Lauren Anderchuk, M, Cascade Christian, Sr; Carmelina Arredondo, D, Lakeview, Sr; Mia Castillo, D, St. Mary’s, Jr; Braelyn Day, D, Cascade Christian, Sr; Sophia Dobry, M, St. Mary’s, Jr; Makyala Drake, M, Rogue River, So; Katie Erno, D/M, Cascade Christian, So; Olivia Lippert, GK, St. Mary’s, Jr; Alyvia Miller, M, Illinois Valley, Jr; Estella Olson, M, St. Mary’s, Jr; Bryton Plankenhorn, F, Cascade Christian, Sr; Ryker Rothfus, F, St. Mary’s, So; Alyssa Sizemore, F, Rogue River, Jr; Zoe Suba, M, Lakeview, Sr; Meg Wright, D, St. Mary’s, Sr.

Honorable Mention

Haliegh Freitas, F, Illinois Valley, Jr; Riley Kreul, M, St. Mary’s, Sr; Hannah Krug, M, Cascade Christian, Jr; Melody Mantlo, M, Rogue River, Sr; Jocelyn Murray, GK, Cascade Christian, Sr.