fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

North Medford's Carpenter earns OPOY award

North Medford senior tight end Jett Carpenter was chosen offensive player of the year in Southwest Conference football all-star voting by the league’s coaches.

The 6-foot-4, 209-pounder was third in the conference in receiving with 43 catches for 805 yards and nine touchdowns. He also starred on defense, earning second-team honors for the Black Tornado.

North Medford had five first-team selections on offense and four on defense after placing second in the conference to Sheldon.

In addition to Carpenter on offense, first-unit selections were senior guard Dane Stewart, senior tackle Parker Landon, senior wide receiver Devyn Grafton and junior running back Devin Bradd.

On defense, Black Tornado first-teamers were senior back Josh Baptiste, junior back Nolan Morris, junior lineman Jayden Sandusky and junior linebacker Luke Pugliano.

South Medford placed one player on the first team, senior wide receiver Austin Boster, and three players on defense: senior lineman Justin Josephson, senior linebacker James Duane and junior back Reujhaun Sharrer.

Other top honors went to Sheldon’s Taylor Johnson, who was named defensive player of the year, and Sheldon’s Josh Line, the coach of the year for the second straight year.


Offensive Player of the Year: Jett Carpenter, sr., North Medford.

Defensive Player of the Year: Taylor Johnson, sr., Sheldon.

Coach of the Year: Josh Line, Sheldon.


First Team

Center: Andy Adams, sr., Sheldon.

Guards: Seth Meier, sr., Sheldon; Dane Stewart, sr., North Medford.

Tackles: Kai Perez, jr., Grants Pass; Zach Lippert, sr., Sheldon; Parker Landon, sr., North Medford.

Tight End: Jett Carpenter, sr., North Medford.

Running Backs: Devin Bradd, jr., North Medford; Jake Henricks, sr., Grants Pass; Lane Shields, sr., Sheldon.

Receivers: Devyn Grafton, sr., North Medford; Austin Boster, sr., South Medford; Joel Valadez, sr., Grants Pass.

Quarterback: Griffin Line, sr., Sheldon; Chase Coyle, sr., Grants Pass.

Placekicker: Jay Kartub, jr., Sheldon.

Second Team

Center: Tharon Gail, jr., North Medford.

Guards: Jacob Hermant, sr., South Medford; Logan Vinyard, jr., Grants Pass.

Tackles: Shane Schwake, jr., Sheldon; Jack Stanley, sr., South Medford.

Tight End: Carson Cota, jr., South Medford.

Running Backs: Doran Gillespie, sr., Roseburg; Josh Baptiste, sr., North Medford; Spencer Sloan, jr., Grants Pass.

Receivers: Chance Costanzo, jr., North Medford; Devik Chiang, jr., Grants Pass; Trey Alvarez, sr., South Medford.

Quarterback: Brennan Stults, sr., North Medford.

Placekicker: Danny Cossette, jr., North Medford.

Honorable Mention

Center: Mayson Ramirez, jr., South Medford.

Guards: Max Meier, sr., Sheldon; Hunter Blix, sr., Roseburg; Joe Bauers, sr., North Medford.

Tackles: Tyson Dixon, sr., Grants Pass; Devin Crenshaw, jr., North Medford.

Tight Ends: Taylor Sisneros, sr., Sheldon; Carter Neuman, jr., Sheldon; Dante Haven, jr., Grants Pass.

Running Backs: Carson Joe, jr., South Medford; Ben Mehlhaff, sr., Sheldon; Mason DeVries, sr., South Medford.

Receiver: Josh Loesch, sr., Sheldon; Garrett Zeimet, jr., Roseburg.

Quarterback: Toren Tuttle, sr., South Medford.

Placekicker: Luke Allen, sr., South Medford.


First Team

Linemen: Taylor Johnson, sr., Sheldon; Carter Neuman, jr., Sheldon; Jayden Sandusky, jr., North Medford; Justin Josephson, sr., South Medford.

Linebackers: Pierce Ewing, sr., Sheldon; Luke Pugliano, jr., North Medford; James Duane, sr., South Medford; Dante Haven, jr., Grants Pass.

Backs: Jaden Doolittle, sr., Sheldon; Nolan Morris, jr., North Medford; Josh Baptiste, sr., North Medford; Reujhaun Sharrer, jr., South Medford; Joel Valadez, sr., Grants Pass.

Punter: Braeden Ryan, sr., Sheldon.

Second Team

Linemen: Riley Bonney, jr., Grants Pass; Brad Harward, sr., Sheldon; Eathan Lasby, jr., Sheldon; Jett Carpenter, sr., North Medford; Nathan Prince, jr., North Medford.

Linebackers: Rhys Messner, sr., Sheldon; Tanner Gaoiran, jr., North Medford; Nick Varner, jr., South Medford; Andrew Medley, sr., Grants Pass; Ben Mehlhaff, sr., Sheldon.

Backs: Hunter Anderle, sr., Sheldon; Cole Zoller, sr., North Medford; Rylee Heim, sr., South Medford; Mitchell Walker, sr., South Medford; Jett Hood, jr., Grants Pass; Noah Martinez, jr., Grants Pass.

Punter: Colby Neron, jr., North Medford.

Honorable Mention

Linemen: Jon Pike, sr., Roseburg; Nate Krupp, sr., South Medford; Matt Bryant, sr., North Medford; Lincoln Kasiah, sr., Grants Pass.

Linebackers: Alaric Kaul, jr., Roseburg; Braeden Ryan, sr., Sheldon; Rourke Martin, sr., Roseburg.

Backs: Skyler Moore, sr., Roseburg.

Punters: Jace Stoffal, sr., Roseburg; Zach Miller, sr., South Medford.

Andy Atkinson / Mail TribuneNorth’s Jett Carpenter breaks tackles on his was to the endzone in the 4th quarter.