fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Crusader Foster chosen player of the year

St. Mary’s senior Tre Foster put together a dominant senior campaign and was feted for his all-around play recently with the Far West League’s highest honor as boys basketball player of the year after voting by the league’s coaches.

The 6-foot-5 Foster led the Crusaders to a share of the FWL regular season championship as well as the league’s playoff title by averaging 17.8 points, 12.6 rebounds, 2.8 blocks, 1.4 assists and 1.6 steals. Foster finished the regular season shooting 54 percent from the field.

“Tre’s just been a beast,” said first-year St. Mary’s boys basketball coach Richard Vasey, who was named FWL co-coach of the year with Sutherlin’s Craig Stinnett.

Joining Foster on the FWL first team were senior teammate Josh Banton, Cascade Christian senior Kiegan Schaan and junior Donminic Lewis and Sutherlin’s Mason Gill and Collin Bodine.

Second-team nods went to Cascade Christian senior Layne Collom and St. Mary’s junior Will Kranenburg.

In the FWL girls voting, Sutherlin’s Jadyn Vermillion was named player of the year and the Bulldogs’ Josh Grotting was named coach of the year.

Cascade Christian senior Sophie Ferreira and junior Paisley Fish earned the top local honors with second-team selections.



PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Tre Foster, Sr., St. Mary’s.

CO-COACHES OF THE YEAR: Craig Stinnett, Sutherlin, and Richard Vasey, St. Mary’s.

First Team

Tre Foster, Sr., St. Mary’s; Mason Gill, Sr., Sutherlin; Donminic Lewis, Jr., Cascade Christian; Josh Banton, Sr., St. Mary’s; Kiegan Schaan, Sr., Cascade Christian; Collin Bodine, Jr., Sutherlin.

Second Team

Gavyn Jones, Jr., Douglas; Layne Collom, Sr., Cascade Christian; Will Kranenburg, Jr., St. Mary’s; Josh Davis, Jr., Sutherlin; Kade Johnson, So., South Umpqua.

Honorable Mention

Brandon Carr, Sr., Sutherlin; James Forrester, Jr., St. Mary’s; Jace Johnson, Fr., South Umpqua; Cody Reece, So., Cascade Christian; Nathan Sternenberg, Jr., St. Mary’s; Kolbi Stinnett, Jr., Sutherlin; Brandon Willard, Jr., Douglas.

All-Defensive Team

Tre Foster, Sr., St. Mary’s; Brendan Gosselin, So., South Umpqua; Erich Hoque, Sr., Douglas; Issac Horn, Sr., Sutherlin; Cody Reece, So., Cascade Christian.


PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Jadyn Vermillion, Jr., Sutherlin.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Josh Grotting, Sutherlin.

First Team

Jadyn Vermillion, Jr., Sutherlin; Kiersten Haines, Sr., Sutherlin; Lexi Schofield, Jr., Brookings-Harbor; Sierra Fitzhugh, Jr., Brookings-Harbor; Shalyn Gray, Sr., South Umpqua; Kyla Pires, Sr., South Umpqua.

Second Team

Amy Dickover, Jr., Sutherlin; Micah Wicks, Fr., Sutherlin; Sidney Alexander, Sr., Brookings-Harbor; Sophie Ferreira, Sr., Cascade Christian; Paisley Fish, Jr., Cascade Christian.

Honorable Mention

Paige Bailey, Jr., Sutherlin; Avana Pettus, Sr., Brookings-Harbor; Liz White, Jr., Cascade Christian; Katelyn Willard, Jr., Cascade Christian; Skylee Gibson, Sr., South Umpqua; Milaneta Sunka Polamalu, Jr., Douglas; Adrianna Sapp, So., Douglas; Kierra Bennett, Fr., Douglas; Paige Rajagopal, So., St. Mary’s; Ryker Rothfus, So., St. Mary’s.

All-Defensive Team

Paige Bailey, Jr., Sutherlin; Alonna Nalls, Sr., Brookings-Harbor; Neha Joseph, Jr., Cascade Christian; Shalyn Gray, Sr., South Umpqua; Mackenzii Phillips, Jr., Douglas; Morgan Dole, Fr., St. Mary’s.

Tre Foster, (34), grabs a rebound during the St. Mary's Cascade Christian game. Photo by Denise Baratta