fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

South, North players head SWC honors

South Medford’s Bella Pedrojetti and Kaili Chamberlin and North Medford’s Jett Carpenter each paved the way in recent all-conference basketball voting by the Southwest Conference coaches.

After guiding the Panthers to their first SWC girls basketball title in three years, Pedrojetti and Chamberlin shared conference player of the year honors.

Carpenter also shared the SWC boys player of the year nod with South Eugene’s Sam Harris after leading the Black Tornado within one victory of a fourth straight title.

Pedrojetti, a 5-foot-10 senior, led the SWC in scoring at 15 points per game to go with 2.5 rebounds and moved into fifth place on South Medford’s career scoring list with 1,334 points entering Tuesday’s playoff opener against Tigard.

Chamberlin, a 5-9 junior, raised her scoring average to 15.9 points in 10 league games to lead all players. For the season, the versatile Panther has averaged 12.8 points — second only to Pedrojetti in the SWC — to go with 4.4 rebounds, 1.6 steals and 1.2 assists.

Also earning first-team recognition were South Medford junior Toni Coleman, Grants Pass senior Camdyn Bruner, Sheldon senior Alyssa Mirabile and South Eugene sophomores Sofia Megert and Alia Harris.

South Medford’s Tom Cole was named girls coach of the year.

The 6-4 Carpenter was recognized for taking his game to another level, leading the league at 19 points per game in 10 contests as North Medford finished one game behind South Eugene in the league standings. Overall, Carpenter has averaged 16.9 points, 6.3 rebounds, 1.7 assists and 1.5 steals.

Joining Carpenter and Harris on the first team were North Medford junior Landon Ellis, South Medford senior Keegan Losinski, Sheldon junior Nash Kuykendall and South Eugene seniors Josh Paul and Aidan Clark.



CO-PLAYERS OF THE YEAR: Jett Carpenter, Sr., North Medford, and Sam Harris, Sr., South Eugene.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Dave Hancock, South Eugene.

First Team

Jett Carpenter, Sr., North Medford; Sam Harris, Sr., South Eugene; Josh Paul, Sr., South Eugene; Landon Ellis, Jr., North Medford; Nash Kuykendall, Jr., Sheldon; Aidan Clark, Sr., South Eugene; Keegan Losinski, Sr., South Medford.

Second Team

Cade Ealy, Sr., Grants Pass; Bryce Boettcher, Sr., South Eugene; Nick Karrick, Jr., North Medford; Matt Parker, Jr., Roseburg; Junior Sleezer, So., South Medford; Victor Orozco-Bernal, Sr., North Medford.

Honorable Mention

Morgan Law, Jr., Grants Pass; Brennan Stults, Sr., North Medford; Zack Carter, Jr., Sheldon; Gunner Robinson, Jr., Sheldon; Dawson Prickel, Sr., Sheldon; Bryce Dyer, So., North Medford; Jarrett Bryant, Jr., South Eugene.


CO-PLAYERS OF THE YEAR: Bella Pedrojetti, Sr., South Medford, and Kaili Chamberlin, Jr., South Medford.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Tom Cole, South Medford.

First Team

Bella Pedrojetti, Sr., South Medford, and Kaili Chamberlin, Jr., South Medford; Toni Coleman, Jr., South Medford; Alyssa Mirabile, Sr., Sheldon; Camdyn Bruner, Sr., Grants Pass; Sofia Megert, So., South Eugene; Alia Harris, So., South Eugene.

Second Team

Emma Schmerbach, Jr., South Medford; Reilly Kelty, Sr., Sheldon; Bella Stone, Jr., South Medford; Jane Ersepke, Sr., North Medford; Sierra Logue, So., South Medford.

Honorable Mention

Makayla Scurlock, Sr., Sheldon; Olivia Pierzina, Jr., Sheldon; Aubrey Lewis, Sr., South Eugene; Beaux Bruegman, Fr., Sheldon; Shakia Teague-Perry, Jr., South Medford; Jazmyn Morphy, Jr., Roseburg; Hannah Stein, Sr., South Eugene; Tanesha Coley, So., South Medford; Jazmyne Wells, Jr., North Medford; Katie Knudson, Sr., Roseburg; Kiran Sperry, Jr., Sheldon; Savannah Weaver, Jr., North Medford.

Andy Atkinson / Mail TribuneNorth Medford's Jett Carpenter is chosen Southwest Conference boys player of the year.