fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

PREP SOCCER: Pindell, Dabbs win top SOC honors

Ashland senior midfielder Carson Pindell and South Medford senior forward Rainie Dabbs were named the Southern Oregon Conference’s boys and girls soccer MVPs in a vote by the league’s coaches, it was announced recently.

South Medford senior Jude Panell was voted the SOC’s goalkeeper of the year, while Grants Pass’ Sam Borngasser earned the same honor on the girls side.

Pindell finished the spring with eight goals and 10 assists. His eighth and final goal of the season was the game-winning strike in the Grizzlies’ SOC tournament semifinal win over Eagle Point in overtime.

Dabbs, a team captain who also played in the midfield, led South to a 9-1-1 record and a berth in the championship game of the SOC tournament. She finished with a team-high nine goals and was second on the team in assists with seven, scoring in eight of the Panthers’ nine regular-season matches.

Dabbs scored or assisted on eight game-winning goals this spring.

Ashland’s Abdiaziz Guled and Eric Wolff were named the boys and girls coaches of the year.

Guled led the Grizzlies to a 9-1-1 record and a SOC tournament title, while Wolff’s squad was 5-5-1 this spring and made it to the SOC semifinals, losing in overtime to No. 1 seed South Medford.



PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Carson Pindell, Ashland.

GOALKEEPER OF THE YEAR: Jude Panell, South Medford.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Abdiaziz Guled, Ashland.

First Team

Matthew Angel, Eagle Point; Peyton Terry, South Medford; Braden Byrd, North Medford; Michael Holden, Ashland; Robert Valencia, North Medford; Kai Larson, Ashland; Tyson Bustamante, Roseburg; Xavier Hanes, Grants Pass; Davidson Graham, Ashland; Sam Edwards, South Medford; Abe Hull, Crater.

Second Team

Elvis Cisneros, Eagle Point; Kyle Denn, South Medford; Gustavo Lara, North Medford; Zach Olson, Grants Pass; Eloy Saucedo, South Medford; Felix Valenzuela, South Medford; Jude Panell, South Medford; Cade Brandes, Grants Pass; Wemar Cervantes, Eagle Point; Julian Lull, Ashland; Royce Bergeron, Roseburg; Spencer Higginson, Crater.


PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Rainie Dabbs, South Medford.

GOALKEEPER OF THE YEAR: San Borngasser, Grants Pass.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Eric Wolff, Ashland.

First Team

Isabelle Cruz, South Medford; Jazmine Campbell, Grants Pass; Rainie Dabbs, South Medford; Taylor Denn, North Medford; Casey Park, Grants Pass; Briana Gibbs, Ashland; Yuki Sabo-Yamanouchi, Ashland; Morgan Burke, South Medford; Campbell Page, Grants Pass; Kaelynn Teagel, Grants Pass; Bella Bottero, South Medford; Sam Borngasser, Grants Pass.

Second Team

Sophie Elam, North Medford; Ini Hammond, Ashland; Mia Tewes, Crater; Makenna Maldonado, Eagle Point; Brooke Anderson, Grants Pass; Camille De La Cruz, Roseburg; Madasyn Van Aker, Roseburg; Rachel Snyder, Grants Pass; Allison Waters, Crater; Joelle Annen, Ashland; Emily Parker, North Medford; Kayleigh Gugliotta, Crater.

Ashland's Carson Pindell pushes the ball forward during the first half.{ }Andy Atkinson / Mail Tribune
Andy Atkinson / Mail TribuneSouth’s Rainie Dabbs and North’s Taylor Denn battle for the ball during the first half.