fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

South Medford’s Walker tops all-SWC list

Panthers junior earns first-team honors on offense and defense

The playmaking abilities of South Medford’s Andrew Walker on both sides of the ball were recognized during recent voting by the Southwest Conference football coaches, with Walker honored as the lone local first-team selection on offense and defense.

The 6-foot-1, 175-pound junior was one of only five players overall to gain first-team status on each side of the ball, earning that distinction at receiver as well as defensive back.

Walker finished the regular season as the second-leading receiver in the SWC at 568 yards and three touchdowns on 23 catches. He also set a school record with a 95-yard interception return for a score against Grants Pass.

Walker was joined on that dual first-team list by Luke Leighton of Sheldon (tight end/linebacker) and Roseburg’s Colton Marsters (quarterback/defensive back), Tiger Black (offensive guard/defensive lineman) and Logan Klopfenstein (receiver/linebacker).

North Medford had six players earn first-team status in offensive guard David Fuiava, offensive tackle Terrell Kim, running back Ty Pugliano, receiver Bryce Dyer and defensive linemen O’Shea Miller and Brandon Dominguez.

Pugliano ran for 920 yards and nine TDs for the fourth-place Black Tornado in the regular season, while Dyer pulled in 38 passes for 529 yards and seven TDs. Each ranked fourth in the SWC at their position despite playing one fewer game than their peers.

South Medford finished third in the SWC and had five first-team selections overall, with linebacker Carson Joe, defensive lineman Jackson Robertson and punter Colton Samis joining Walker with those honors.

Marsters was named SWC offensive player of the year, Black was SWC defensive player of the year and Dave Heuberger was voted SWC coach of the year to earn a sweep of the top honors for Roseburg, which finished runner-up to Sheldon in the standings after a breakthrough campaign.

All-SWC Football

OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Colton Marsters, Sr., Roseburg.

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Tiger Black, Jr., Roseburg.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Dave Heuberger, Roseburg.



CENTER: James Coleman, Jr., Roseburg.

GUARD: Tiger Black, Jr., Roseburg; David Fuiava, Jr., North Medford.

TACKLE: John Gelsomino, Sr., Sheldon; Terrell Kim, So., North Medford; Haydon Snyder, Sr., Roseburg; Silas Kincaid, Sr., Roseburg.

TIGHT END: Luke Leighton, Jr., Sheldon.

RUNNING BACK: Cayden Eckel, So., Roseburg; Ty Pugliano, Jr., North Medford; Grafton Robinson, Jr., Sheldon.

RECEIVER: Bryce Dyer, Sr., North Medford; Logan Klopfenstein, Sr., Roseburg; Andrew Walker, Jr., South Medford.

QUARTERBACK: Colton Marsters, Sr., Roseburg.

PLACEKICKER: Sam Poole, Sr., Sheldon.


LINEMAN: Josh Merriman, Jr., Sheldon; O’Shea Miller, Sr., North Medford; Brandon Dominguez, Sr., North Medford; Tiger Black, Jr., Roseburg; Jackson Robertson, Sr., South Medford.

LINEBACKER: Luke Leighton, Jr., Sheldon; Dawson Gillespie, Sr., Roseburg; Logan Klopfenstein, Sr., Roseburg; Carson Joe, Sr., South Medford; Braeden Lesina, Sr., Grants Pass.

DEFENSIVE BACK: Keegan Line, Sr., Sheldon; Landyn Dupper, Sr., Roseburg; Colton Marsters, Sr., Roseburg; Andrew Walker, Jr., South Medford.

PUNTER: Colton Samis, Sr., South Medford.



CENTER: Adam Burkett, Sr., North Medford.

GUARD: Ryan Yakovich, Jr., Sheldon; Daniel Thomas, Jr., Roseburg.

TACKLE: Tanner Thomas, Jr., Sheldon; Brogan Hancock, Sr., South Medford.

TIGHT END: AJ Pugliano, So., North Medford; Josh Hart, Sr., Grants Pass.

RUNNING BACK: Carson Joe, Sr., South Medford; Trevor Reeves, Jr., Grants Pass.

RECEIVER: Zach McEwen, Jr., Sheldon; Isaac Peters, Jr., Sheldon; Jackson Tunick, Jr., Grants Pass.

QUARTERBACK: Brock Thomas, Jr., Sheldon.

PLACEKICKER: Brandon Dominguez, Sr., North Medford.


LINEMAN: Tilman Ritchie-Tuisue, Sr., Sheldon; Erick Santacruz, Sr., North Medford; Silas Kincaid, Sr., Roseburg; Haydon Snyder, Sr., Roseburg; Parker Jarvis, Jr., Grants Pass.

LINEBACKER: Karson Mazziotti, Sr., Sheldon; David Manstrom, Jr., Sheldon; Braden Steinacher, Sr., Roseburg.

DEFENSIVE BACK: Isaac Peters, Jr., Sheldon; Koda Passey, Sr., North Medford; Bryce Dyer, Sr., North Medford; Ty Pugliano, Jr., North Medford.

PUNTER: Sam Poole, Sr., Sheldon; Mason Warren, Sr., North Medford; Miles Anderson, Sr., Grants Pass.



CENTER: Carl Harward, Jr., Sheldon; Bowen Johnson, So., South Medford.

GUARD: Jacob Johnson, Sr., North Medford; Aiden Fuller, Sr., Sheldon; Li Moala, So., South Medford.

TACKLE: Connor Trinca, So., North Medford.

RUNNING BACK: Brycen Guches, Sr., South Medford.

RECEIVER: Keegan Line, Sr., Sheldon; Alex Angulo, Jr., North Medford; Landyn Dupper, Sr., Roseburg; Colton Samis, Sr., South Medford.

QUARTERBACK: Mason Warren, Sr., North Medford; Deacon Edgar, Jr., South Medford.


LINEBACKER: AJ Pugliano, So., North Medford; Kilohana Wailehua, Jr., North Medford; Dylan Espinosa, Jr., South Medford; Asher Johnson, Sr., South Medford.

DEFENSIVE BACK: Carson Dunn, Sr., Roseburg; Jayce Jordan, Sr., Grants Pass.

Have a story idea? Reach sports editor Kris Henry at 541-776-4488, khenry@rosebudmedia.com or www.twitter.com/Kris_Henry

South Medford's Andrew Walker was a first-team all-Southwest Conference selection at receiver and defensive back this fall. Andy Atkinson / Mail Tribune