fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Crater duo highlights MWL all-star list

View all photos

Crater seniors Caden Lasater and Jimmy Jordahl entered the fall football season as the players to watch for the Comets.

Neither disappointed despite such focused scrutiny.

For their efforts, Lasater and Jordahl became two of four players — and the only teammates of that foursome — to earn first-team acclaim on both sides of the ball during recent voting by the Midwestern League football coaches.

Also receiving first-team recognition on offense as well as defense were Thurston senior Jake Newell as a receiver and defensive lineman and Churchill senior Riley Van Camp as a receiver and punter.

Lasater, at linebacker, and Jordahl, at defensive end, helped set the tone for a Crater defense that allowed only 12.3 points and 230 yards per game during the regular season.

Senior defensive back Miles Jennings was also instrumental on the back end of Crater’s defensive effort, which earned him first-team recognition as well. The Comets had 20 takeaways on defense.

Offensively, the 6-foot-4, 230-pound Jordahl was pivotal as an offensive tackle in giving his team a push that led to 20.1 points per game and 211.8 yards.

Lasater finished as one of the MWL and state’s top Class 5A running backs with 860 yards and five touchdowns on 161 carries.

For good measure, Lasater also passed for a touchdown and had 21 receptions for 189 yards and two scores. Combined with his defensive and special teams play, Lasater finished the regular season with 10 touchdowns as the Comets’ unquestioned top playmaker.

Eagle Point put it all together to become this area’s top 5A offense, with junior quarterback Caiden Lacey and senior receiver Jimmie Copeland securing first-team acclaim of their own from the MWL coaches.

As a group, the Eagles averaged 295.3 yards and 26.6 points per game over their eight games. Lacey was instrumental in that effort in his first season since transferring from North Medford, completing 111 of 179 passes for 1,318 yards with 12 touchdowns and eight interceptions.

Copeland was the biggest beneficiary in Lacey’s ability to open up the offense, gathering in 36 catches for 623 yards and seven TDs.

Eagle Point’s defense also garnered recognition as senior linebacker Isaiah Hill was joined by senior defensive back Triston McGuire in receiving first-team nods. The Eagles limited opponents to 214.6 yards and 17.5 points per game.

Newell was named the MWL offensive player of the year, while Churchill senior Braden Rohde earned MWL defensive player of the year honors.

Thurston’s Justin Starck received MWL coach of the year recognition from his peers.


OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Jake Newell, Sr., Thurston.

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Braden Rohde, Sr., Churchill.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Justin Starck, Thurston.



CENTER: Auron Cramer, Sr., Thurston.

GUARD: Brycen Thomas, Sr., Churchill; Chase Sattler, Sr., Springfield.

TACKLE: Jimmy Jordahl, Sr., Crater; Desy McWilliams Stacy, Sr., Churchill.

TIGHT END: Grayson Starck, Sr., Thurston.

RECEIVER: Jake Newell, Sr., Thurston; Riley Van Camp, Sr., Churchill; Jimmie Copeland, Sr., Eagle Point.

RUNNING BACK: Brycen Indell, Sr., Thurston; Gavin Knights, Sr., Thurston; Caden Lasater, Sr., Crater.

QUARTERBACK: Chace Pence, Sr., Churchill; Caiden Lacey, Jr., Eagle Point.

PLACEKICKER: Gavin Levesque, Sr., Thurston.


LINEMAN: Jimmy Jordahl, Sr., Crater; Braden Rohde, Sr., Churchill; Jake Newell, Sr., Thurston; Josh Buller, Sr., Thurston.

LINEBACKER: Vaun Halstead, Jr., Thurston; Romynn Schaefer, Jr., Churchill; Caden Lasater, Sr., Crater; Isaiah Hill, Sr., Eagle Point.

DEFENSIVE BACK: Darien Witham, Jr., Thurston; Miles Jennings, Sr., Crater; Danny Womack, Sr., Churchill; Triston McGuire, Sr., Eagle Point.

PUNTER: Riley Van Camp, Sr., Churchill.



CENTER: Ethan Bodenbender, Sr., Eagle Point.

GUARD: Matthyw McGrath, Sr., Willamette; Raegan Gowen, Fr., Crater.

TACKLE: Trevor Henderson, Sr., North Bend; Kaiden VanEtten, Sr., Springfield.

TIGHT END: Kayden Gardner, So., Crater.

RECEIVER: Griffin Bushnell, Sr., Willamette; Kellen Humphries, Sr., Thurston; Caden Negra, So., Ashland.

RUNNING BACK: Austin Mills, Sr., Churchill; Isaiah Hill, Sr., Eagle Point; Vaun Halstead, Sr., Thurston.

PLACEKICKER: Jeremiah Cordle, So., Eagle Point.


LINEMAN: Jimmie Copeland, Sr., Eagle Point; Travis Grantom, So., Willamette; Trevor Henderson, Sr., North Bend; Chase Sattler, Sr., Springfield.

LINEBACKER: Brycen Indell, Sr., Thurston; Sidon Green, Sr., North Bend; Tony Downes, Jr., Crater; Johnson Lin, Sr., Willamette.

DEFENSIVE BACK: Gage Young, Sr., Churchill; Parker Saunders, Sr., Thurston; Dillon Butler, Sr., Willamette; Miguel Perez, Sr., Thurston.

PUNTER: Luke Higginson, Jr., Crater.



GUARD: Kekoa Kahookaulana, Fr., Ashland.

TACKLE: Sage Wilson, Jr., Crater; Colson Abel, Sr., Ashland.

TIGHT END: Pete Pennington, Jr., Churchill.

RECEIVER: Henry Pence, Jr., Churchill; Dwayne Fotta, Jr., Springfield.

RUNNING BACK: Connor Dye, So., Springfield.

PLACEKICKER: Tony Perez, Sr., Crater; Danny Womack, Sr., Churchill.


LINEMAN: Cruz Ortiz, Sr., Thurston; Juan Ruiz, Sr., Eagle Point; Matthyw McGrath, Sr., Willamette; Dylan Bowles, Sr., Churchill; Kevin Turcios, Sr., Eagle Point; Ryken deVillenueve, Sr., Crater; Mike Sherrill, Jr., Crater; Joshio Stevens, So., North Bend.

LINEBACKER: Kellen Humphries, Sr., Thurston; Ethan Moody, Sr., Eagle Point; Luke Higginson, Jr., Crater; John Peck, Sr., Churchill; TJ Daniel, Sr., Springfield; Kevin Jones, Sr., North Bend.

DEFENSIVE BACK: Jermaine Richards, Sr., Willamette; Quentin McDonald, Sr., Springfield; Ronin Kimbrough, Sr., Ashland; Alex Smith, Sr., Eagle Point; Tony Perez, Sr., Crater; Ethan Burkhead, So., Thurston; Aiden Chenoweth, Jr., Crater; Scott Price, Jr., Crater; Jordan Vega, Sr., Springfield; Julian Gomez, Jr., Springfield; David Roberts, Jr., North Bend; Sam Mickelson, So., North Bend Tripp Repp, Sr., Ashland.

PUNTER: Gavin Levesque, Sr., Thurston.

Have a story idea? Reach sports editor Kris Henry at 541-776-4488, khenry@rosebudmedia.com or www.twitter.com/Kris_Henry

Andy Atkinson / Mail TribuneCrater's Caden Lasater breaks tackles for a score during the 2nd quarter.
Andy Atkinson / Mail TribuneCrater's Jimmy Jordahl stops Mazama's Zeke Heaton for aloss during the 1st quarter.
Eagle Point quaterback Caiden Lacey finds an opening for a completed pass. Photo by Denise Baratta
Larry Stauth Jr. Eagle Point's Jimmie Copeland attempting to run the ball between defenders Andrew Schatz (23) and Miles Jennings (3) at Eagle Point on Friday. (Larry Stauth Jr. / for the Mail Tribune)