fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Local standouts net first-team MWL acclaim

View all photos
Ashland quartet, Eagle Point pair highlight all-MWL soccer voting

Dynamic duos provided a driving force for the Ashland boys and girls soccer teams this past fall so it seems fitting that the Midwestern League coaches honored the Grizzlies accordingly.

Ashland garnered two first-team all-conference selections in boys soccer as well as girls soccer to highlight voting that also saw Eagle Point receive one first team nod in each.

Seniors Davidson Graham and Lucas Poareo Davidson were each chosen for the MWL boys first team, while senior Emmeline Clark and junior Iniana Hammond were MWL girls first-team selections for the Grizzlies.

For Eagle Point, senior Mathew Angel earned a spot on the MWL boys first team and senior MaKenna Maldonao was selected to the MWL girls first team.

Graham capped a stellar four-year run on the Ashland varsity team by putting his finishing ability on display to lead the Grizzlies in scoring and assists. Graham scored 16 goals to go with seven assists to spark the offense.

Poareo Davidson showed his versatility by anchoring the defense while also making plays in the midfield, posting five goals and four assists for the MWL runner-up Grizzlies.

Angel helped lead Eagle Point to a share of second place in the MWL with Ashland, scoring five goals to go with 12 assists in eight league games for the Eagles.

Clark and Hammond were instrumental in leading the Ashland girls soccer team to a share of the MWL title, posting an unbeaten record at 6-0-2 with North Eugene.

Clark and Hammond combined to score 11 goals and record nine assists for the Grizzlies, who finished with 24 goals and allowed only 12.

Maldonado helped Eagle Point snap a 46-match winless streak with a 2-0 win over Roseburg in their season opener Aug. 31. In only her second season playing high school soccer, Maldonado finished with five goals and two assists for an Eagles team that netted 10 goals overall this fall.

Ashland’s Eric Wolff shared MWL girls soccer coach of the year honors with North Eugene’s Brandy Wormdahl.



PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Ariel Carlos De Dios Cruz, So., Willamette.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Jason Burke, Willamette.


(GK) Noah Cox, Jr., Willamette; Ariel Carlos De Dios Cruz, So., Willamette; Hector Fandino, Sr., Willamette; Kayden Sandow, Sr., Willamette; Davidson Graham, Sr., Ashland; Lucas Poarero Davidson, Sr., Ashland; Mathew Angel, Sr., Eagle Point; Kyle Babcock, Sr., Springfield; Jacobo Contreras Benitez, Jr., Springfield; Anthony Mambira, Jr., Churchill; Owen Parker, Sr., North Eugene.


(GK) Mina Schepmann, Sr., Ashland; Papa Yansane, Jr., Willamette; Victor Castaneda, Sr., Willamette; Roy Arroyo, Fr., Willamette; Emi Rojo, So., Willamette; Cedric Houston, Sr., Ashland; Mario Jacobson, Jr., Ashland; Brennen Neyt, Sr., Eagle Point; Alejandro Redondo, Sr., Eagle Point; Eduardo Mendoza Beltran, Jr., Springfield; Ari Walling, So., Churchill; Cooper Hopkins, Jr., Crater; John Efraimson, Sr., North Bend.


(GK) Diego Estrada, Jr., Crater; (GK) Luis Benitez, Jr., Springfield; Luis Padilla, Sr., Willamette; Pedro Guimaraes, Sr., Ashland; Diego Garcia, Sr., Eagle Point; Edgar Lopez, Jr., Eagle Point; Braiden Tester, Jr., Crater; Finn Dumars, Jr., Thurston.


PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Lauren Becraft, Sr., North Eugene.

CO-COACHES OF THE YEAR: Brandy Wormdahl, North Eugene, and Eric Wolff, Ashland.


(GK) Alexi Morgan, Jr., Springfield; Lauren Becraft, Sr., North Eugene; Ashley Hart, Sr., North Eugene; Olivia Hoskinson, Sr., North Eugene; Emmeline Clark, Sr., Ashland; Iniana Hammond, Jr., Ashland; Alydia Metz, Sr., Thurston; Abigail Fitzpatrick, Jr., Thurston; Gracie Bridgens, Jr., Willamette; Sela Freeman, Jr., Churchill; MaKenna Maldonado, Sr., Eagle Point.


(GK) Delanie Stiffler, Sr., North Eugene; Avery Wormdahl, Sr., North Eugene; Natalie Hobbs, Sr., North Eugene; Joelle Annen, Jr., Ashland; Chloe Holzshu, Sr., Ashland; Makenna Page, Sr., Ashland; Kylie Jones, Jr., Thurston; Adriene Willis, Jr., Willamette; Elidia Cervantes-Carlos, Fr., Springfield; Jillian Goggins, Jr., Springfield; Mia Tewes, Sr., Crater.


(GK) Gabrielle Gilbert, Jr., Thurston; (GK) Brynn Buskerud, So., North Bend; (GK) Zadi Burke, Sr., Ashland; Sachi Moran, Sr., Ashland; Luna Wilhelm, Sr., Ashland; Emily Johnson, Jr., North Eugene; Ella Dzmura, Jr., Thurston; Makayla Christensen, Jr., Willamette; Kayleigh Gugliotta, Sr., Crater; Rainey Simmons, Jr., Thurston; Kielie Green, Sr., Churchill; Yesenia Avila, Sr., Eagle Point.

Reach sports editor Kris Henry at 541-776-4488, khenry@rosebudmedia.com or twitter.com/Kris_Henry

Andy Atkinson / Mail TribuneAshland's Davidson Graham takes a shot for a score during the 2nd half.
Andy Atkinson / Mail TribuneAshland's Lucas Poareo Davidson celebrates with teamates after scoring during the 1st half.
Andy Atkinson / Mail TribuneEagle Point's Mathew Angel shoots for a goal during a 2019 game.
Andy Atkinson / Mail TribuneAshland's Emmeline Clark shoots the ball during the 1st half.
Andy Atkinson / Mail TribuneAshland's Ini Hammond shoots the ball that was blocked by West Albany's Ryann Crowe during the 2nd half.