fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

PREP ROUNDUP: Crater crowns 3 MWL champions

EAGLE POINT — Crater crowned three wrestling champions and Eagle Point added another for the local contingent, but top-ranked Thurston proved too much to overcome overall in the Midwestern League district championships Saturday at Eagle Point High.

Elijah Bayne (113 pounds), Ty Havniear (132) and Matthew Bolanos (145) carried the torch for the fifth-ranked Comets, who had seven finalists overall.

Eagle Point’s Jimmie Copeland won the district title at 182 to score the No. 8 Eagles’ lone finals win in five attempts.

For Ashland, Lindson Turner (126) and Alan Helsel (182) led the charge with second-place showings.

Thurston ran away with the MWL team title, posting finalists in all but three of the 14 weight classes and 12 overall in the championships. The Colts totaled 447 points to finish ahead of runner-up Crater (310) and host Eagle Point (280).

Bayne pinned top-seeded Kanoe Kelly of Thurston in 1:11 in the semifinals at 113 and won by fall over the Colts’ Colton Annis in 3:43 in the finals.

Havniear paved his way to the finals with a pair of pins in under 40 seconds and then waged a nip-and-tuck battle with Eagle Point senior Dylan Dahling in the finals, scoring a 13-10 decision.

Bolanos needed a total of 107 seconds of mat time to secure his district title at 145, scoring pins in 31, 26 and 50 seconds before being awarded a forfeit in the championship finals against Thurston’s Elijah Southern.

Copeland scored three pins before squaring off with Helsel in the championships after the Grizzlies junior upset top-seeded Auron Cramer of Thurston in the semifinals. Copeland scored a fall over Helsel at the end of the match (6:00) to cap his run.

Finishing runner-up for the Comets were Ryan Hill (138), Brayden Gray (160), Braiden Tester (170) and Gabriel Williams (220).

Eagle Point’s Luke Patterson (120), Dylan Dahling (132), David Brown (152) and Marc Milazzo (195) also placed second.

The top four placers at each weight advanced to the Class 5A state tournament set Feb. 26 at Ridgeview High in Redmond.

TEAM SCORES: Thurston 447, Crater 310, Eagle Point 280, North Eugene 131, Willamette 100, Ashland 97, Springfield 76, North Bend 73, Churchill 44.


106 — Jake Stutesman, Thurston, pinned Mason Hakki, Thurston, 1:16; 113 — Elijah Bayne, Crater, pinned Colton Annis, Thurston, 3:43; 120 — Eduardo Matheus, Thurston, dec. Luke Patterson, Eagle Point, 12-7; 126 — Braylin Ruchti, Thurston, dec. Lindson Turner, Ashland, 12-10; 132 — Ty Havniear, Crater, dec. Dylan Dahling, Eagle Point, 13-10.

138 — Kolton Malone, Thurston, pinned Ryan Hill, Crater, 2:43; 145 — Matthew Bolanos, Crater, won by forfeit over Elijah Southern, Thurston; 152 — Hunter Harwood, Thurston, pinned David Brown, Eagle Point, :18; 160 — Holton Halstead, Thurston, pinned Brayden Gray, Crater, 2:35.

170 — Sawyer Casarez, Thurston, dec. Braiden Tester, Crater, 8-2; 182 — Jimmie Copeland, Eagle Point, pinned Alan Helsel, Ashland, 6:00; 195 — Brycen Indell, Thurston, pinned Marc Milazzo, Eagle Point, 1:36; 220 — Vaun Halstead, Thurston, pinned Gabriel Williams, Crater, 1:30; 285 — Neal Walter, North Bend, pinned Alexander Willoughby, Willamette, 1:11.


106 — Logan Bercume, Willamette, pinned Garret Breeden, Crater, 1:20; 113 — Luke Callahan, Eagle Point, pinned Kanoe Kelly, Thurston, 1:49; 120 — Wren Rambo, Crater, dec. Robert Howes, Eagle Point, 9-4; 126 — Ryan McCarty, Crater, major dec. Jaden Ellis, Thurston, 13-1; 132 — Fernando Gonzalez, Springfield, dec. Wyatt Smith, North Bend, 10-9.

138 — Ayden Tazioli, Crater, pinned Rodrigo Harrison, Thurston, 4:59; 145 — Logan McAllister, Willamette, dec. Tyson Achambeau, North Eugene, 9-2; 152 — Hyrum Weiss, North Eugene, dec. Patrick Latham, Ashland, 11-4; 160 — Brian Brown, Eagle Point, major dec. Will Downs, Ashland, 15-7.

170 — Juan Ruiz, Eagle Point, pinned Ezekiel Allison, Churchill, :44; 182 — Auron Cramer, Thurston, pinned Alexander Waizman, Springfield, 1:28; 195 — Adair Ortega, North Eugene, pinned Maxwell Linsday, Ashland, :33; 220 — Emillio Ayala, Eagle Point, pinned Brian Cortez, Eagle Point, :56; 285 — Keannan Bowditch (Thurston) 29-7, Sr. over Joel Montes (Eagle Point) 12-6, Sr. (Dec 10-4).

CLASS 4A DISTRICT 3 CHAMPIONSHIPS: At Klamath Falls, Phoenix junior Marcelo Camargo and senior Joseph Baynard each captured district championships to pace the Pirates in the eight-school event at Klamath Union High.

Camargo capped an undefeated run in the 170-pound bracket with his third pin of the tournament to claim his title.

The top-seeded Camargo pinned Mazama’s Seth Wright in 59 seconds in the quarterfinals, won by fall over North Valley’s Ryan Gaskin in the semis in 2:55 and then pinned Henley’s Tulson Higgins in 2:34 in the finals.

Baynard also carried a No. 1 seed at 220 and reversed his fortunes in the finals, turning an early deficit into a fall in 2:28 over Marshfield’s Hayden Murphy.

Baynard previously needed 13 seconds to win his first match, pinned Henley’s Hagen Greer in the quarterfinals and scored an 11-3 major decision over Klamath Union’s Indrani Espinoza in the semis.

By virtue of their top-4 finishes, Camargo and Baynard qualified for the state tournament Feb. 26 at Cascade High.

Mazama won the team title with 351 points, easily outdistancing runner-up Henley (248).

TEAM SCORES: Mazama 351, Henley 248, Hidden Valley 210, North Valley 163, Marshfield 156.5, Cottage Grove 134, Klamath Union 131, Phoenix 104.


CLASS 4A/3A/2A/1A DISTRICT 4 CHAMPIONSHIPS: At Cottage Grove, St. Mary’s senior Asa Frisbee won a pair of boys district titles and Cascade Christian sophomore Joezie Mitchell did likewise in the girls meet to pace the local effort at the 10-school event.

Frisbee touched first in the 200 freestyle in 1 minute, 47.13 seconds and in the 100 free in 47.41 seconds. He was also part of the Crusaders’ first-place effort in the 200 freestyle relay (1:37.49).

Caleb Bingham finished first in the 100 backstroke (1:00.88) and second in the 200 individual medley (2:20.56) for the St. Mary’s boys, who were also second in the 400 freestyle relay (3:39.76) and finished runner-up in the team standings.

Lucas Impert placed third in the 100 breaststroke for St. Mary’s (1:15.06) while Elwood Hosking finished fourth for Phoenix in the 100 back (1:13.37).

In the girls meet, Mitchell won the 200 I.M. in 2:19.24 and the 100 breaststroke in 1:12.25 for the Challengers, while teammate Maile Scaglione was second in the 50 free (27.28) and fourth in the 100 free (1:01.19). Both were part of the fourth-place 200 free relay squad (1:57.05).

Annikka Fetro of St. Mary’s placed third in the 200 I.M. (2:33.86) and 100 fly (1:07.23) and was part of the Crusaders’ 200 free relay team that also finished third (1:56.20).

For Phoenix, Heidi Taylor finished fourth in the 200 free (2:20.50) and 100 fly (1:12.64) and swam a leg on the Pirates’ third-place 400 free relay team (4:31.28). Phoenix finished third in the girls team standings.

BOYS TEAM SCORES: Marshfield 416, St. Mary’s 250, Klamath Union 203, North Valley 171, Cottage Grove 168, Phoenix 161, Henley 150, Mazama 33, Hidden Valley 31.

GIRLS TEAM SCORES: Henley 351, Cottage Grove 343, Phoenix 218, Klamath Union 205, Marshfield 187, St. Mary’s 181, Cascade Christian 159, Hidden Valley 94, North Valley 14, Mazama 13.