fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

South’s Hunter leads all-state honors

Rogue Valley hoopers well-represented on OBCA Class 6A, 5A lists

South Medford junior standout Donovyn Hunter added to her postseason accolades by being named to the Class 6A girls basketball all-state first team by the Oregon Basketball Coaches Association on Friday.

Hunter was one of several Rogue Valley standouts to be recognized by the OBCA, which surveyed all of the Class 6A and 5A boys and girls basketball coaches from across the state to develop its listing.

The 6-foot guard previously was named the MaxPreps state girls basketball player of the year for Oregon and was the Southwest Conference player of the year this past season for South Medford.

Hunter averaged nearly 23 points, five rebounds, five assists and two steals this past season for the Panthers, who finished 24-5 and placed fifth at the Class 6A state tournament.

Joining Hunter on the 6A girls basketball list was 6-3 senior Panthers teammate Sierra Logue, who gained honorable mention distinction after averaging 14 points, nine rebounds and three blocks per game.

In Class 6A boys basketball, South Medford senior Junior Sleezer led a host of local honorees with his second-team all-state selection.

The 6-3 Sleezer, who was also chosen as the SWC boys basketball player of the year, averaged 13.2 points, 3.2 rebounds, 2.9 assists and 1.3 steals for the Panthers, who finished 25-3 and placed fourth at the 6A state tournament.

South Medford senior Devon Malcolm and freshman Boden Howell and North Medford seniors Trey Neff and Bryce Dyer were recognized on the honorable mention all-state listing.

The 6-3 Malcolm paced the Panthers in scoring (15.7 points) and rebounding (8.6 rebounds) with 2.2 steals, 1.8 assists and 1.6 blocks per game.

Howell enjoyed a breakout debut season, with the 6-3 guard averaging 15.5 points, 3.4 rebounds and 2.7 assists.

The 6-2 Neff averaged a conference-best 18.2 points to go with 4.4 rebounds, 2.2 assists and 1.9 steals for the Black Tornado, which finished 21-4 overall.

The 6-5 Dyer, who is set to sign with Southern Oregon University in a ceremony Friday, contributed 12.6 points, 11.3 rebounds, 4.4 assists and 2.1 steals per game for North Medford. Dyer finished as North Medford’s career leader in rebounds with 651.

Eagle Point senior Brennen Neyt was recognized with a second-team selection to lead the list of local Class 5A boys basketball honorees. The 6-3 Neyt helped set the tone for a breakthrough season for the Eagles, who advanced to the state tournament for the first time since 2014.

Neyt led Eagle Point in scoring at 17.7 points per game to go with 7.2 rebounds, 2.1 assists and 1.7 steals for an Eagles team that finished 18-9 overall after one win in each of the previous two seasons.

In earning an honorable mention nod, Crater senior Tate Broesder was a driving force in the Comets placing fourth at the Class 5A state tournament and finishing 23-6 overall.

The 6-5 Broesder averaged 11.7 points, 4.6 rebounds and 1.8 assists per game.

Also on the honorable mention list were a pair of Ashland standouts in senior Hawthorn Lapierre and junior Egan Shields, who led the Grizzlies to a 16-11 record and a sixth-place showing at the Class 5A state tournament in the program’s first trip to the final site since 2007.

The 6-8 Lapierre averaged 17.7 points, 7.5 rebounds and 1.4 assists, while the 6-10 Shields posted 10 points and 7.1 rebounds per game for Ashland.

In the 5A girls basketball list, Crater senior McKenzie Hirsch was the lone local representative after the 5-11 standout was named to the honorable mention squad.

Hirsch posted 11 points, 5.4 rebounds, 2.9 steals and 1.2 assists per game for the Comets, who finished 19-7 overall.




PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Jackson Shelstad, Jr., West Linn.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Todd Jukkala, Tualatin.


Jackson Shelstad, Jr., West Linn; Noah Ogli, Sr., Tualatin; Adrian Moseley, Jr., Grant; Julian Mora, Sr., Summit; Riley Williams, Jr., Central Catholic.


Tre Hamilton, Sr., Beaverton; Junior Sleezer, Sr., South Medford; Malik Ross, Sr., Tualatin; Caden Harris, Sr., Summit; Moroni Seely-Roberts, Jr., Lincoln.


Terrence Hill, So., Jefferson; Devon Malcolm, Sr., South Medford; Owen Caudle, Sr., Sherwood; Trey Neff, Sr., North Medford; Jackson Cooper, Jr., Cleveland; Kalim Brown, Jr., Tigard; Dimitri Cohen, Sr., Mountainside; Jalen Atkins, Fr., Barlow; Jalen Childs, Jr., Sunset; Zeke Viuhkola, Sr., West Linn; Kavon Bradford, Jr., Benson; Boden Howell, Fr., South Medford; Esyah Pippa-White, Jr., Gresham; Josiah Lake, Jr., Tualatin; Dezman Baker, Sr., Mountainside; Bryce Dyer, Sr., North Medford; Tane Prictor, Sr., Mountain View; Winters Grady, Fr., Lake Oswego; Cody Classen, Sr., Bend; Jordan King, Sr., Central Catholic; Dallon Morgan, Sr., Sprague.


PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Lainey Spear, Jr., Beaverton.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Kathy Naro, Beaverton.


Lainey Spear, Jr., Beaverton; Jazzy Davidson, Fr., Clackamas; Donovyn Hunter, Jr., South Medford; Mahogany Chandler-Roberts, So., Benson; Reese Ericson, Sr., Lakeridge.


Ava Heiden, So., Sherwood; Kennedie Shuler, Jr., Barlow; Emma Sixta, Jr., Jesuit; Zoe Borter, Jr., Beaverton; Charlotte Rickman, Sr., Ida B. Wells.


Annie Koenig, Jr., Barlow; Lizzy Bennett, Jr., West Salem; Sierra Logue, Sr., South Medford; Malya LeSueur, Jr., Benson; Abby Graham, Sr., St. Mary’s Academy; Lindsey Wilson, Sr., Mountainside; Madison Naro, Jr., Beaverton; Dylan Mogel, Fr., Clackamas; Keelie O’Hallaren, Jr., Lakeridge; Abrianna Lawrence, Fr., Jefferson; Avery Edwards, Jr., Jesuit; Sara Barhoum, Fr., Clackamas; Peyton Gardner, Sr., Bend; Kendra Hicks, So., Jesuit.



PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Samaje Morgan, Sr., Churchill.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Chris Roche, Wilsonville.


Samaje Morgan, Sr., Churchill; Noah Dewey, Sr., Crescent Valley; Garrett Osborne, Sr., Redmond; Nick Robertson, Jr., La Salle; Neil Efimov, Sr., Silverton.


Maxim Wu, Jr., Wilsonville; Logan Thebiay, Sr., Wilsonville; Jordy McCarty, Sr., Silverton; Evan Otten, Jr., Redmond; Brennen Neyt, Sr., Eagle Point.


Tate Broesder, Sr., Crater; Hawthorn Lapierre, Sr., Ashland; Skyler Schmidt, Jr., Scappoose; Logan Law, Jr., Milwaukie; Egan Shields, Jr., Ashland; Henry Pointer, Sr., Lebanon; Ryan Brown, Sr., Silverton; Jake Leibelt, Sr., Crescent Valley; Emanuel Romero, Sr., Hood River Valley; Kaden Harris, Jr., Milwaukie; Kellen Sullivan, Sr., Corvallis.


PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Danaeja Romero-Ah-Sam, So., Springfield.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Eric Gower, Crescent Valley.


Danaeja Romero-Ah-Sam, So., Springfield; Maddie Olma, Sr., Rex Putnam; Gabby Bland, Jr., Crescent Valley; Jenna Albrecht, Sr., Ridgeview; Lindsey Bailey, Sr., West Albany.


Brynn Smith, Fr., Willamette; Kyleigh Brown, So., Silverton; Cali Densen, Sr., Milwaukie; Ella Wedin, Jr., La Salle; Juju Henderson, Fr., Springfield.


McKenzie Hirsch, Sr., Crater; Emma Bales, Sr., Crook County; Karina Borgen, Sr., Wilsonville; Victoria Nguyen, Fr., Willamette; Mia Skoro, Sr., La Salle; Katelynn Weaver, Jr., Crook County; Paige Traeger, Sr., Silverton; Elka Prechel, Sr., Corvallis; Muriel Hoisington, Sr., Pendleton; Sevennah Van De Riet, Sr., Corvallis; Stella Scott, Sr., Churchill; Emma McDonald, Jr., Rex Putnam; Marina Castaneda, So., Hood River Valley; Kyrah Daniels, Jr., Ridgeview; Sadie Wendering, Jr., Central.

Have a story idea? Reach sports editor Kris Henry at 541-776-4488, khenry@rosebudmedia.com or twitter.com/Kris_Henry

Andy Atkinson / Mail TribuneSouth Medford's Donovyn Hunter shoots for three points during the third quarter.