fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Malott looks to become first repeat winner

Jan. 13, 2002

Ricky Ward put the finishing touch on a wildly successful inaugural Medford Open when he struck on his last ball to defeat Ryan Shafer, 215-214.

Jan. 12, 2003

Bryan Goebel, who only two months earlier was considering retirement, defeated Danny Wiseman for the championship, 257-212. He closed it out with six straight strikes.

Jan. 18, 2004

Pete Weber went on to win his 30th career crown, 265-256, over Tommy Delutz Jr. It was the highest scoring title match in more than a year. Delutz needed to strike out in the 10th but left the 10-pin on his second ball.

Dec. 12, 2004

Winner Mike Wolfe did it the hard way. Four of the six foes he defeated in matches were Hall of Famers, and his six opponents accounted for 114 tour titles. He doubled in the 10th to down Norm Duke, 214-212. In the semifinals, Wolfe defeated Walter Ray Williams Jr., 256-206, stopping his bid to tie Earl Anthony's career win record of 41.

Jan. 8, 2006

Brian Himmler won his fourth career crown, defeating Mika Koivuniemi 214-204. But it wasn't without drama. Himmler converted the 3-6-10 spare to spur the win.

Jan. 14, 2007

Sean Rash, 24, became the youngest champion and prevented Brian Himmler from becoming the first repeat winner here with a 262-190 victory over "The Chief." Rash struck in the first eight frames.

Jan. 13, 2008

Wes Malott emerges from a star-studded finals, beating rookie sensation Rhino Page, 255-193, for the title. Malott, the lone right-hander in the finals that included Parker Bohn III and Patrick Allen, rolled four straight strikes to start the title match and wasn't threatened.