fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Linder wins Iron Head Nationals at SO Speedway

WHITE CITY — Garen Linder made a rare appearance at Southern Oregon Speedway and won the $2,000 prize in the 25-lap Iron Head Nationals Saturday night at Southern Oregon Speedway. Jeffrey Hudson took the lead from Tanner Holmes on the sixth lap and held it until Linder made a low pass in Turn 3 of the 16th lap to gain command. Linder led the rest of the race with Holmes settling for second ahead of Hudson, Jake Wheeler and Kyler Barraza.

Camden Robustelli won the 20-lap SODCA Dwarf Car Main Event. It was his first win here and third of the season with the traveling association. Robustelli gained the lead from Chad Cardoza on the 13th lap and faced a serious threat from Anthony Pope on lap 18. The two cars made contact in Turn 2. Pope lifted and took a ride through the infield.

Robustelli kept leading the final two laps to win. Cardoza finished second ahead of Mac Marmon, Pope and Brandon Ross.

Points leader David Steele won his sixth 20-lap Mini Stock Main Event of the season. The race was never in doubt as Steele set a rapid pace and won by three-quarters of a lap. Hunter Magnan made a last turn pass on Kristopher Mix. The two cars made contact crossing the finish line with Magnan finishing second ahead of Mix, heat winner Ashtin Hedges and Steve Goetz.

Brandon Wonsyld won his second JOAT Labs Hornets 20-lap Main Event. Wonsyld also won his heat race, and he led the Main Event from flag to flag. Bree Tritchler earned her fourth second-place finish in the last five races to gain the point lead. Jeremy Mayfield won a race long battle with Chris Boynton for third as Trophy Dash winner Dylan Irving finished fifth.

Next week is Hall Of Fame Night. In addition to seeing some Southern Oregon racing greats inducted into the Hall Of Fame, there will be six divisions competing. IMCA Modifieds will be back along with IMCA Sport Modifieds, Late Models, Bobbio’s Pizza Mini Stocks, JOAT Labs Hornets and OTRO Hardtops. For further information, go to www.southernoregonspeedway.com.

Unofficial Race Results

Kendall Oil Winged Sprint Cars

Heat Winners (10 Laps) — Kyler Barraza, Jeffrey Hudson, Tanner Holmes. Scramble (6 Laps) — Tanner Holmes. Main Event (25 Laps) — Garen Linder, Tanner Holmes, Jeffrey Hudson, Jake Wheeler, Kyler Barraza

Bobbio’s Pizza Mini Stocks

Heat Winner (6 Laps) — Ashtin Hedges. Trophy Dash (4 Laps) — David Steele. Main Event (20 Laps) — David Steele, Hunter Magnan, Kristopher Mix, Ashtin Hedges, Steve Goetz.

JOAT Labs Hornets

Heat Winners (6 Laps) — Brandon Wonsyld, Jeremy Mayfield. Trophy Dash (4 Laps) — Dylan Irving. Main Event (20 Laps) — Brandon Wonsyld, Bree Tritchler, Jeremy Mayfield, Chris Boynton, Dylan Irving.

Southern Oregon Dwarf Cars

Heat Winners (8 Laps) — Cody Peters, Jonathon Henry, Josh King, Camden Robustelli. Scramble (8 Laps) — Josh King. B Main 1 (12 Laps) — Anthony Pope, Mac Marmon, Jimmy Brinster. B Main 2 (12 Laps) — Brock Peters, Fred Hay, Brandon Ross. Main Event (20 Laps) — Camden Robustelli, Chad Cardoza, Mac Marmon, Anthony Pope, Brandon Ross.

Tire photo