fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Trenchard, Dees win Hall of Fame Night races at SO Speedway

WHITE CITY — Nick Trenchard won his second 25-lap IMCA Modified Main Event on Hall Of Fame Night, Saturday at Southern Oregon Speedway.

Jantzen Knips paced the field for three laps before Trenchard went racing by on the outside in Turn 4. Trenchard led through two caution flags during the second half of the race and won by nearly a straightaway ahead of points leader Albert Gill. Zach Fettinger settled for third, followed by Jesse Bailey and Dave Duste Jr.

John Dees won his first 20-lap Late Model Main Event of the season. He gained the lead with a front stretch pass on point leader Nathan Augustine on lap nine. Moments later, Augustine spun in Turn 2 for a yellow flag. A red flag flew on lap 19 when Don Garrett Jr. rode the back wall. John Dees led the one lap sprint to the checkered flag ahead of Mike Linder. Nathan Augustine made a late charge to finish third ahead of Bob Dees and Garrett Dees

Matt Sanders won his first 20-lap IMCA Sport Modified Main Event and became the seventh different winner in the process. Sanders gained the lead from Ethan Killingsworth on lap nine and held off a late challenge from Rich McCoy for an impressive victory. Tyler Rodgers made a last turn pass on Killingsworth for third as Randy Wright finished fifth.

Point leader David Steele rolled to his 20 lap seventh Bobbio’s Mini Stock Main Event. Steele also won his heat race and the Trophy Dash to make it a clean sweep. Steele took the lead on lap two and led through a pair of yellow flags for the victory. Steve Goetz was a race long second. Kristopher Mix made a late pass on heat race winner Gary Anderson to finish third as Ashtin Hedges was fifth.

Chris Boynton won his second 15-lap JOAT Labs Hornets Main Event. Boynton also won the Trophy Dash, and he led all the way for the feature win. Brandon Wonsyld and points leader Bree Tritchler made late passes on Tim Hedges to finish second and third, respectively. Hedges settled for fourth, followed by Dylan Irving.

Mark Minter won his third 15-lap OTRO Hardtop Main Event of the season. Minter led all the way and held off Bill Trotter for the win. Dean Cast finished third, followed by Matt Butler and Jay Smith.

The night also included Hall Of Fame induction ceremonies. Dane Smith, Bruce Rayburn, Dave Duste Sr, Rick Hunsley and the son and daughter of Dick Wallace were there to receive Hall Of Fame plaques and say a few words for the fans in attendance. Display boards in the grandstand area featured clippings and photos from Medford Speedway.

Racing continues next week with the $3,500 Cascade Wingless Sprint Car Challenge.

Unofficial Race Results

IMCA Modifieds

Heat Winner (6 Laps) — Jon DeBenedetti, Zach Fettinger.

Trophy Dash (4 Laps) — Albert Gill.

Main Event (20 Laps) — Nick Trenchard, Albert Gill, Zach Fettinger, Jesse Bailey, Dave Duste Jr.

Late Models

Heat Winners (6 Laps) — John Dees, Dave Foote.

Trophy Dash (4 Laps) — Dave Foote.

Main Event (20 Laps) — John Dees, Mike Linder, Nathan Augustine, Bob Dees, Garrett Dees.

IMCA Sport Modifieds

Heat Winners (6 Laps) — Ethan Killingsworth, Braxton Possinger, Rich McCoy.

Trophy Dash (4 Laps) — Tyler Rodgers. Main Event (20 Laps) — Matt Sanders, Rich McCoy, Tyler Rodgers, Ethan Killingsworth, Randy Wright.

Bobbio’s Pizza Mini Stocks

Heat Winners (6 Laps) — Gary Anderson, David Steele.

Trophy Dash (4 Laps) — David Steele.

Main Event (20 Laps) — David Steele, Steve Goetz, Kristopher Mix, Gary Anderson, Ashtin Hedges.

JOAT Labs Hornets

Heat Winner (6 Laps) — Chris Boynton.

Trophy Dash (4 Laps) — Brandon Wonsyld.

Main Event (20 Laps) — Chris Boynton, Brandon Wonsyld, Bree Tritchler, Tim Hedges, Dylan Irving.

OTRO Hardtops

Heat Winner (6 Laps) — Mark Minter.

Trophy Dash (4 Laps) — Bill Trotter.

Main Event (20 Laps) — Mike Minter, Bill Trotter, Dean Cast, Matt Butler, Jay Smith.