Pot stores await fate on OLCC punishment
There recently were stories in the news about four pot shops in Southern Oregon being cited for selling marijuana to underage individuals. However, I've seen nothing about any punishment or other consequences for doing that. Also, if four shops were cited during this sting operation, how many others refused to sell to minors?
— Tim B., Medford
The Mail Tribune had a story Jan. 11 about the four shops being cited, facing a possible 10- to 30-day license suspension or a fine of $1,650, depending on whether the sale was deliberate.
From what the Oregon Liquor Control Commission has told us, it doesn't appear any of the shops took any kind of deliberate action. Instead, it appears to be more of an oversight.
As to punishment, it might take a while, Tim, so don't hold your breath. OLCC has a lot of administrative procedures and hearings that take place before the fine is levied. In some cases, it has been taking about six months to process.
To answer your question, eight of the 12 shops visited during the Dec. 20 sting refused to sell to minors. Statewide, of the 86 stores involved in the sting operation, 16 sold to minors.
By the way, the OLCC conducted another sting Jan. 26 at 10 Southern Oregon pot shops, and all of them refused to sell to the minor decoy. All of the 10 shops were located in Josephine County except for Rogue Valley Dispensary in Central Point.
— Send questions to “Since You Asked,” Mail Tribune Newsroom, P.O. Box 1108, Medford, OR 97501; by fax to 541-776-4376; or by email to firstname.lastname@example.org. We’re sorry, but the volume of questions received prevents us from answering all of them.