fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Ristvedt, Rohlfing take top CCC honors

Southern Oregon’s Taylor Ristvedt repeated as the Cascade Conference Player of the Year and Josh Rohlfing did the same as Coach of the Year on Thursday night, as the postseason awards were revealed at the CCC Volleyball Championships banquet.

Ristvedt, a senior right-side hitter, was joined on the All-CCC team by SOU junior middles Elliott Cook and Makayla Hoyt. Senior libero Emma Ryan received honorable mention.

Rohlfing guided them and the rest of the Raiders to the team’s sixth CCC regular-season championship in his 13-year tenure, garnering the top coaching honor for the fifth time. They’ll open the CCC Tournament with the top seed a 27-3 record, hosting Northwest Christian at 7 p.m. Friday in the semifinals with a spot in Saturday’s championship match on the line.

Ristvedt became the third Raider ever to earn multiple CCC POTY awards, following SOU hall-of-famers Kristina Matchett and Lindsey Stone. She improved her numbers across the board over last year’s breakout campaign, leading the circuit in kills per set (3.6) again and topping the attacking average leaderboard at .363 by a margin over 80 points over every other player posting at least five kills per set.

She stands at 1,274 career kills, trailing only Matchett on SOU’s all-time list.

Cook and Hoyt again made up the most potent attacking duo of middle in the CCC, carving out spots on the 16-person all-conference team for the second year in a row. Cook averaged 2.1 kills per set on a .296 average — including a .352 clip in CCC matches — and ranked fifth in the circuit in blocks per set (1.1). Hoyt has contributed 1.9 kills per set on a .339 average and sits at No. 8 on the blocking leaderboard (0.9).

Ryan, the 2018 CCC co-Libero of the Year, continued to lead from the back row, registered just over four digs per set — up by nearly half a dig over last year — and leading the Raiders in both service receptions (585) and reception average (.952). She ranks eighth in Raider history with 1,151 digs over four seasons, having accumulated a career-high 440 this year.

College of Idaho’s Jordyn Boswell was voted the Freshman of the Year and Eastern Oregon’s Kiley McMurtrey the Libero of the Year.

Southern Oregon University head volleyball coach Josh Rohlfing talks with players during game against Corban at Bob Rheim Arena on Friday. (PHOTO BY: LARRY STAUTH JR)